We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Mirage Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Memorial Weekend. Pulling up to the complex it looked a little run-down (as most things at the coast do.) We were able to check in a little earlier, which was nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were nervous about how the room was judging by the outside but were pleasantly surprised by a very clean and comfortable room. It was a little outdated but the layout was great, room was very clean. It was nice having the laundry room as you walk in to be able to strip from the beach :) The kitchen was fully furnished with every utensil, dish, or appliance you might need. Furniture was nice, beachy decor was cute, bed and pillows VERY comfortable. Watch out for the draft on the patio if you have the front door open, that's no joke! 2 decent pools and plenty of gas or charcoal grills around the complex. Nice lighted boardwalk straight to the beach. Unfortunately the seaweed was very thick but I won't blame the hotel as some reviewers have done, ha ha! Location was ideal--just a few miles from downtown Port A. Ate at the Pelican Club and Trout Street (see separate reviews) which were both great. Our only complaint would be the "dedicated" parking. Twice we returned from a trip to Port A to find our parking spot taken by a condo owner. Other than that, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole_Gus_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMirage P, Front Office Manager at La Mirage Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, the salt air is very hard on the exterior of the property; we are continuously working to maintain the exterior appearance. The seaweed has been unusually heavy over the last month; we are hoping it begins to subside in the near future. I apologize for any inconvenience the designated parking spots may have caused; we do ask that all guests register the vehicle, in an effort to ensure that they are parked in the correct area. We look forward to have you join us again on your next visit to Port Aransas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just went over the Memorial Day weekend and we rented a very outdated, muggy, 2br 2ba. That was the worst 798 dollars spent. The bathroom was tiny, the decor outdated, rusty, jacuzzi filthy, loud music blaring at all hours, no cleaning service and the list goes on....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedivadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMirage P, Front Office Manager at La Mirage Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete the recent review. We appreciate any feedback our guests can provide both positive and negative. All of our units are individually owned and furnished differently. I would like to speak to you regarding your recent stay, please call our office at your convenience so that I may address the issues you mentioned. Our Hot tubs are cleaned several times a day, however due to the holiday weekend; they were used more then usual, and often guest return from the beach and jump in forgetting they may be covered in sand. To make our guest stay as pleasant as possible we hire an outside security company to patrol the property, after hour noise is a high priority, and is not tolerated. All units rented through our office are provided a daily maid service, however there are several owners which rent their units individually, this service may or may not be provided by them. I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay; we would like the opportunity to earn you business back, please consider joining us on your next visit to Port Aransas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

AWESOME weekend for our annual pilgrimage out of San Antonio on the crazy Fiesta weekend! This was, we think, our 6th year at La Mirage and we have already booked for 2015! This year, we were in no. 434......great view for Mom, although the seaweed was icky! We stepped over it! But the boardwalk was wonderful and Mom and i enjoyed our glass of wine every afternoon at the sitting area just before the beach! The staff are wonderful, friendly and sooo accommodating....even came back with a bottle of "409" so we could properly clean the stove after our bacon and eggs! We will be back, and keep recommending to our friends! Thanks for letting us have a place we can call our home away from home........still think we should buy one of those wonderful places! Every condo we have stayed in has been great!

Room Tip: We like the 4th floor, front view, as Mom isn't very mobile, and just like to sit and watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMirage P, Front Office Manager at La Mirage Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at La Mirage!
We appreciate you taking the time to complete the recent review. We stride to make all of our guests stays as memorable as possible. Customer service is very important to us, and I am happy to hear that your family enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you in the future and will do our best to make your next visit just as pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I took my mother to stay for her birthday this feb. 14 2015 and it was the worst stay ever. There were nails sticking up out of the floor in the master bedroom which my brother stepped on. We had to physically pull the nail out of his foot. There was blood everywhere. This happened because we were in there telling my mother good night and happy birthday. Thank god it wasnt my 3 yr old that stepped on the nails. In the guest bathroom the shower kept coming on over and over again no matter how many times we tried to shut it off. Called office several times that night and no one picked up. Talked to office next morning and did not hear back till 2:00pm right at lunch that we needed to change rooms which took 3 hours. Hotel supervisor was supposed to call me about incident and still have yet to hear from anyone. I spent over 400 for the room and had the most horrible experience i have ever had. Dont stay here the rooms are seriously dangerous.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jenniferhill28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMirage P, Front Office Manager at La Mirage Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate all comments from our guest both positive and negative. I am very concerned that you did not enjoy your recent stay; however I would like to address the issues you mentioned. Early Saturday morning you notified the office regarding an issue with the shower in which you stated that the shower turned off and on alone, maintenance was immediately sent to your unit and found no problem. (No phone calls were ever received on our emergency maintenance line prior to you calling the front desk) It was reported a short while later that a drain located under the bath tub in your unit was dripping into the unit below, for this reason we opted to upgrade you to a three bedroom unit for the remainder of your stay. As soon as this problem was reported, you were called and told about the upgrade and asked to pick up keys to the new unit at your convenience. A short while later, the office was then notified that a member of your party had stepped on a nail, as before maintenance was immediately sent to you unit, upon their arrival the unit was completely empty and they found no problem, nor did they find any blood on the carpet as you mentioned. Additional maintenance personnel were dispatched to your unit; they also inspected the unit and found no problems aside from a small area in the transition strip which was tapped back into place. No nails or blood were found on the carpet. Later that evening a member of your party stopped by the office and picked up the new keys, at this time they were asked to complete an incident report regarding the problems during you stay. They declined to do so at this time.
The following day, upon departing I again asked you to complete the incident report, at this time the report was completed, but not signed. I also asked to take a picture of the foot which was punctured by the nail, at which time I was allowed to do so but told that there were no visible makes where the accident occurred. You were contacted by management several times after your departure regarding this incident, at this time; we are still awaiting a return phone call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our stay was over Christmas break. My sister has stayed at La Mirage before and highly recommended it. We had a wonderful week. Our children actually played in the water in December. The pool was always warm and inviting. The rec room was a great place to hang out and play card games or ping pong. We had children ranging in ages from 7 to 18 in our group and no one complained about being bored. Our room had a "partial" gulf view. It was actually a great view. We could see the Gulf and watch the sunset over the inter-coastal waterway. The unit was very quiet even with guests above and below us. Parking is under the building and easily accessible. The beach is also easily accessible. The property has much to offer at an outstanding value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have views of the gulf and the inter-coastal waterway. It's a great comb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMirage P, Front Office Manager at La Mirage Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to vacation with us, we are very pleased to hear that your family enjoyed your visit. Our heated pool has become a favorite among our winter guests, it is one of the featured amenities on our property. The recreation room is also a crowd pleaser, the convenience of the open kitchen, lounge area and ping pong table are a fast growing favorite among families and group gatherings. We are happy to hear that your family got to enjoy these amenities during your recent visit. As you mentioned, our ideal location makes it nearly impossible to not have a great view from our property, and the short walk down the boardwalk places your toes right in the sand. We would love to have your family visit us again, please keep us in mind while planning you next trip to Port Aransas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The room was awesome. It overlooked the beach and we had a constant breeze penetrating through the open door. We could have used some instructions on the wireless and the TV channels in the room though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMirage P, Front Office Manager at La Mirage Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review. We appreciate all suggestions and comments from our guests. As you mentioned, the view from our beachfront units is amazing, and the cool gulf breeze is great. We will look into preparing a small instruction sheet to be provided in the units regarding the wireless internet. Hopefully this will make it a little more user friendly. A channel listing is provided at arrival to each of our guests, however we can also see about providing a list in the units as well. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay, and hope that you will be back to us on your next island getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stay in Room 307 and it was just fantastic! the room is super nice! furniture and everything was great, the view is fantastic and the balcony was really nice!
Right o the beach ! clean and nice place
The girl at the office was really nice and helpful!!
we need a replace a battery on the smoke detector and the maintenance guy got there in minutes !
Love this place and this Unit !
We are coming back soon!!

Room Tip: 307 was perfect, balcony nice and shadow during the afternoon and evening so you can enjoy the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneCatalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMirage P, Front Office Manager at La Mirage Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your recent visit, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Although there are some maintenance issues that our beyond our control, our staff tries very hard to make sure each of our guest has he best experience possible. We would love to have you join us again, and hope that you will come back to see us on your next trip to Port Aransas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
5.5 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
359 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
546 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel
Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel
#6 of 42 in Port Aransas
293 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirage Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirage Condominiums

Address: 5973 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4847
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range: £78 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mirage condos offer studio efficiencies, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominiums from 700 to 1250 sq. ft. All of our condominiums have a fully equipped kitchen, laundry room, living and dining area, and high speed DSL Internet connection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Mirage Condominiums Hotel Port Aransas
La Mirage Condominiums Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing