We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's been a good run”

Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's been a good run”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

My husband & I have been going to the Crazy Cajun for years, taking our kids since they were little. Every summer we go to Port A and every summer we go to this place, maybe it's just me but seems like the portions are getting smaller while the prices are getting steeper. We ordered 4 of the Hungry Fisherman at $15 each, 2 sodas, 4 beers and a kids meal = $120 plus an $18 tip?? I don't know about everyone else but an $18 tip seems a little much for me and it was already added in, comes out to about 15% of the bill. If the service, atmosphere and food would've been better I wouldn't have had a problem with an $18 tip. My family & I have decided not to go back anymore and will try a new place for seafood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    90
    64
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We thought this would be a great place to eat while on our vacation. First time we went to eat there they were closed (advertised open but then weren't). Our waiter was fine but other wait staff were rude, pushing behind us (about 8 inches from chair to wall), just to get to the other side of the room. We had 2 orders of the Hungry Fisherman and there was not enough food for 1 and over priced. The crab and crawfish were small but shrimps were good. Just spicy enough that the kids could eat too.
Disappointed after reading all the great reviews and it was below par.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We Eat Here Every Summer”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A very fun place to go! Definitely a restaurant that folks need to eat while at the island. The Hungry Cajun seafood bowl is always great. They dump it out in front of you on the table and give you the supplies to have at it. It's especially a great place for groups of friends to go!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sour-Patch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Play with your food!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Who doesn't love to have huge helpings of crawfish, shrimp, crab, and fixin's dumped on their table?? If you don't, this is not your dive.
Playing with your food--another family favorite! We entertained our 2 year-old while I sang the "chef song" from The LIttle Mermaid.
Food was yummy and overly plentiful. They do not serve anything fried but do offer a kids' pizza. Also, have gumbo, jambalaya...and I think that's it. Simple, yet tasty--the Cajun Dump!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kristin8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was just ok”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The portions for every thing but their big plate are very small and very blah in taste. Server was attentive though. We wouldn't go back

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank angie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing