We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat the hungry cajun. You're welcome. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant

Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 79 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Eat the hungry cajun. You're welcome. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The food was amazing and reasonably priced. The kids had so much fun eating and coloring on the paper covered table. Very dark inside. Windows are screened off. All the food was amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    86
    62
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Being from Louisiana I'm kinda picky when it comes to cajun food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

So this place wasn't bad. You've got a few options as far as the menu goes, you've got the crazy cajun which is a serving of mixed seafood, sausage, corn, and new potatoes. Then you've got the standard gumbos, Jambalaya, and other assorted rice dishes but the main attraction is the crazy cajun. They bring it out and dump it on the table fresh from the boiling pot. It's not bad but it's not real spicy which is good I suppose since most folks in Texas don't handle spice real well. The drinks are insanely pricey. 2.50 for soda, 3 bucks for TEA and then 2.75 for an 8 oz draft beer. I was there with a group of five and the bill came out to $100.25 not too bad all things considered but for the amount they charged each of us I was expecting more. I dunno if I'd eat there again given other choices but if someone really wanted to go I probably would.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crawfish a Little Plain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Bought a few pounds and they cooked it hot and fresh. Smelled wonderful but was really lacking the little kick that comes from the spices. Next time we will have a meal there and see how the rest of the menu is.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeechBumm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Flavorful, but small portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The gumbo, red beans and rice, etc. are meant to be ordered as sides, I think, to accompany the shrimp boil. We chose the seafood combo and red beans and rice for our meals and found the portions to be small. The food was delicious, but would prefer the option to order a dinner portion for a higher price. Real bowls and flatware would be nice rather than the cheap styrofoam plates and plastic flatware. The food was very good though, and we still had room to stop for ice cream.

Helpful?
Thank Fremontkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quirky little place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

nothing fancy about this place, but if you want a good seafood pot, it's great. It's weird for us northerner's to dump the food pot out on a paper lined table, but it's part of the 'charm' of this quirky little place. enjoy!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank canadiancachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing