We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fried shrimp in south Texas”
Review of Marcel's Restaurant - CLOSED

Marcel's Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: German, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Marcel's Restaurant is located at 905 Hwy 361 (S. Alister Street becomes Hwy 361 as you head south of the main part of town). We are located almost directly across the street from the Seafood & Spaghetti Works building.
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We've been going to Marcel's ever since we moved here in 2003. I've never gotten a bad meal there. If fact, Marcel's has the best fried shrimp in south Texas. I've tried almost everything on menu and I always go back to the fried shrimp. But, everthing I've had has been excellent. The building may be old but it's clean and the food is certainly worth the trip. I would definitely rate Marcel's as the best restaurant in Port Aransas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beachman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorie_Althauser, Public Relations at Marcel's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you very much for telling others about our Fried Shrimp in your review. Since this review posted we've had many guests come in and tell us they want to try the shrimp based on your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

I have eaten at Marcels many times over the years. I have never had anything that was not a wonderful dining experience. The food is always top drawer, prepared and served to perfection. I highly recommend Marcel and his staff for preparing and serving only the best. Betty M.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bettyboop662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Want a great dining experience while visiting Port Aransas? Then don't miss Marcel's. Marcel cooks everything personally and only uses the freshest ingredients. We have eaten here often and have never had anything but the best. His fish dishes are always to die for. Don't miss desert, the peach melba is Alan's favorite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorie_Althauser, Public Relations at Marcel's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you for your glowing review Ms. Kim. It is always very motivating to get feedback. We certainly are always striving make dinner here enjoyable (and delicious) :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We ate here with a party of 4 adults and 1 child. The food was very good and service was excellent. Each of us had a different meal and all were very satisfied. My five yr old just wanted grilled fish with no seasoning and a vegetable and they were more than willing to accomodate her. We will be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alimag63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorie_Althauser, Public Relations at Marcel's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us. People are sometimes surprised that we are "Kid Friendly", but we enjoy giving children a grown up dining experience (with crayons and coloring pages of course...) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We had a lovely meal here on the 21st January. The restaurant was clean, the staff friendly and the service was good. The food was excellent and nicely presented, the Key Lime pie was the best. We will be returning.

Bev & Ken

Thank Bjscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcel's Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing