We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in South Texas”
Review of Marcel's Restaurant - CLOSED

Marcel's Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: German, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Marcel's Restaurant is located at 905 Hwy 361 (S. Alister Street becomes Hwy 361 as you head south of the main part of town). We are located almost directly across the street from the Seafood & Spaghetti Works building.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in South Texas”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We ate at Marcel's again the other night and as usual the food was fantastic. You just can't beat this place. Wonderful German food and seafood. The salads and soup are to-die for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    35
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pricey but Delicious Steak”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I got the steak, my wife got the fried shrimp.

It was very good. The steak was delicious--the way steaks should be.

One wouldn't think so from outside, but a very nice place. Table cloths covering the tables--a step above the average P.A. restaurant. Reservations are recommended. We dropped by without one on a Saturday night, but fortunately they had a table available before too long.

We got the inexperienced "new girl" as our waitress and it showed, but we would return for the food.

My wife commented that the shrimp batter at Frankie's Kitchen (see our review on TripAdvisor) was actually a bit tastier than here at Marcels.

I wasn't informed, but the tea was not "standard." Must have been Black Tea or Green Tea. Obvious taste difference.

Veggies were very tasty. Potatoes were good.

Dinner for two without alcohol is going to run you about $50 or more.

Sorry, no photo this time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old World Ambiance!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have been going to Marcel's for years and have never been disappointed. Quiet, romantic and away from the maddening crowd, they have excellent Eastern European cuisine, a superb wine list and the most amiable owner/chef in the Coastal Bend. The food is prepared fresh and made to order. No problems here if you need gluten free or have any other dietetic needs. There are so many Mexican and/or seafood restaurants in this area so having a place that is totally unique in their menu offerings is a real blessing. Their goulash, schnitzel, etc. all remind me of my heritage. It is the food I grew up eating!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality Food”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I ate there February 14th, 2013 for Valentines Day. The food and wine was very good and service was good. We will return again...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougRogillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always Exceptional”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have been enjoying Marcel's for over seven years. We live on North Padre Island, about 20 miles south of Port Aransas. We have several excellent restaurants closer then Marcel's, but when we want a quiet, romantic, superb dining experience, it is well worth the drive to Marcel's. The owner/chef Marcel, a tall, amiable German fellow, is always there making sure everything is just right. He will often come over to visit guests at their tables to see that all is to their satisfaction, which is an uncommon and welcome personal touch. Marcel's has some of the finest import German beers on draft, a good wine list, very capable, well trained and quality servers, and the prices are surprisingly reasonable. The restaurant is nicely furnished, quiet, no hurries, not like some places with deliberately high noise levels to stop patrons from relaxing too long. At Marcel's, just savor, relax and take your time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robnash46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcel's Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing