We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prepared perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcel's Restaurant - CLOSED

Marcel's Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Marcel's Restaurant is located at 905 Hwy 361 (S. Alister Street becomes Hwy 361 as you head south of the main part of town). We are located almost directly across the street from the Seafood & Spaghetti Works building.
michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Prepared perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had jalapeños stuffed with crab....crunchy crust, spicy with a lot of crab. Veal shoulder and veal scallopini, we both enjoyed our veal and would order them again...excellent. The fresh vegetables, side salad and spaetzle is a cut above other restaurants. We will be returning soon. Thanks for the good service too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    35
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I usually order one of the blackboard specials. They are excellent. The soup specials are a much try item. Made from fresh vegetables & other delectable ingredients. The bread is very tasty. My sister has seafood allergies & this is her favorite restaurant in Port A. Great seafood but also really good steak & German dishes. The service is good. The wine is good. Marcel's is always on our dining list when in Port A.

CJH

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cam5002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real nice dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner at Marcel's. Food was good to very good (bread was excellent and the steak was perfect) and the service was excellent considering the place was full and the waitress was covering many tables. She was really pleasant in spite of how busy she was. A family owned and operated restaurant that may not suit everyone, but if you want a quality dining experience, they do a nice job. Marcel's has a high rating among P.A. restaurants and after eating there, I agree.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“fine evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Fine menu selection with wide price options, great German draft beer, good wine selection, tasty bread before meal with appetizers and attentive service. Daily special was both good value and tasty (braised lamb shank). A number of typical German specialties on menu in addition to your usual American dishes. My wife (who was born and partially raised in Germany) found the pan-fried pork schnitzel tasty. We will be back before we leave town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bigv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Refugio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food not so Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My Girl friend and I went into Marcel's for dinner and had a nice Glass of house Red wine. We ordered our dinner and the service was good but the food has really gone down from our previous visits.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemarlin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcel's Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing