We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seafood & Spaghetti Works

Seafood & Spaghetti Works
Ranked #6 of 79 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here at Seafood and Spaghetti Works we offer a variety of delicious dishes. Our homemade selections range from signature seafood creations to the traditional dishes of Italy. Our eclectic menu is sure to satisfy your family on any night out. Family owned and operated for over 38 years, we have delicately curated our recipes from scratch. We look forward to sharing good food and drinks with you on our island.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Quite expensive and not really worth it. The building itself is nice and definitely a step up from most of the dump,y dive-type places in Port A so we were eager to check it out and had high expectations. Salad bar was excellent with many options. Tried the Richard's Fish and the sauce really smothered the fish and just didn't have a great flavor. The waitress recommended it and so did another diner, so clearly some people like it a lot. I was VERY disappointed that I couldn't order a side of pasta with my seafood. Seems odd given the name of the restaurant. You have to eat seafood OR spaghetti, not the two together.We went there thinking we could get fish or shrimp with spaghetti and butter garlic sauce. They don't even HAVE butter garlic sauce. The fried fish, oysters and shrimp were average, not great, and very pricey. We probably won't go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    198
    106
    62
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Took group of 7, seated very quickly, staff very friendly and knowledgeable about local fish choices. Loved it definitely. Will visit again and again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Food is good, nice atmosphere. The soup and salad bar is outstanding. A little too expensive but will come back !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Imeldita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad all around experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We are regulars at Jay's. Each summer we eat here 3-5 times. We first were going to try a new spot and then decided to go back to our ole faithful Jays. First our Mexican Martinis were mixed wrong and the waiter said that he didn't think they looked right. The didn't taste right either! He took them back. The second round were almost as bad as the first. Our other drinks were very slow. The food was not so good either. The only good thing we had was the soup and salad bar. We are not sure for the price that we will give it another chance. :(

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mln6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We ate here twice on our recent vacation. First outing, we ate in the restaurant. We had seafood and steak options and all were good and some were great. It was pricey but not unreasonable. I had Richard's Fish and it was good but not as great as it sounded. The fist was a little bit dry and could have used more toppings. My son ordered the ribeye and it was thin but cooked well and tasty.

My husband ordered the Seafood Feast and it was a much better value. The soup and salad bar were very good. When you add it to the meal it is a lot of food.

Our waiter was not helpful and borderline rude. He seemed annoyed to be waiting on tourists. We asked if the Seafood Feast was large enough for us to split and he said didn't know because it depends on how hungry we were. It would have been plenty for both my husband with some leftover. There was a problem with our order (his mistake) and he did get it fixed promptly. (No apologies)

We were seated next to the hostess booth and several times had to get up and ask for things we need because the waiter was a no show after he brought our food.

Our second outing, we called in an order for pickup. We sandwich, burgers and pizza this round and all were very good and about 1/3 price of the night before. The biggest issue was getting someone at the bar to help us check out. Once we did it went very smoothly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vobqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seafood & Spaghetti Works also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Seafood & Spaghetti Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing