We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but disappointing”
Review of Fish House - CLOSED

Fish House
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place but disappointing”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Service was ridiculously slow and inattentive, only one other table yet we couldn't get refills on tea. Salad came after dinner piled on a plate that was to small to hold it. Food was good, menu very limited and a bit pricey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service, didn't get a chance to try the food”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hungry at the end of a long day, we decided to do a late dinner at The Fish House. After seating two groups in front of us, we were asked to wait for a table that was occupied by a couple finishing their dinner. We were confused a little, because there were 2 open tables in front of us. But, we waited for 20 minutes outside (as the only guests in line). We went back inside and asked if they could sit us in one of the open tables. They said "no" they were "waiting to see if any large groups would show up." After waiting for so long staring at open tables, we left and went across the stree to eat at The Pelican Club (which was fabulous).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average seafood; Poor service”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have tried to support this restaurant on five occasions and each time the service was poor at best. The food was average and prices high for the quality of food. Taking clients out to diner is something I like to do after we have completed a transaction, a little way to show my appreciation for them. So I like to take them to a place with quality food and service. The last time we waited 20 minutes to be seated, there were empty tables. We were actually ignored and staff would walk right in front of us. We left! Guess the owner needs to take a more active roll in his business. We shall not return. Sorry, I live here and like to support our local business but can not endorse any business that is run this way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DougRogillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Won't make it unless service improves”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We experienced the worst service we have ever had in Port Aransas. The owners definitely need to work out some kinks before resting on their laurels.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank benitodisparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Welcome addition to Port Aransas dining options”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I've eaten at a large number of the restaurants in and around Port Aransas, and many are mediocre at best, probably because they know most of their patrons are tourists who won't be back any time soon in any case.

In looking for somewhere new to try, we came across the Fish House. The restaurant is in an actual house about a block down the street from some of the bigger restaurants on the water.

The restaurant has limited seating so I definitely wouldn't show up with a big group on a Saturday night. But on a Tuesday night, the restaurant was able to accommodate our group of 7 with no wait. The service was attentive and friendly, if not super fast. The crawfish queso appetizer was very good. The menu is mostly seafood (typical fried fish, oysters and shrimp) but there are burgers and chicken fried steak for non-seafood lovers. Our group was happy with their dinner entrees. I had the fish tacos which were good - although I may be spoiled by having access to excellent fish tacos in San Antonio (I also think fish tacos should be served on corn tortillas, not oversized flour ones.). The menu prices were reasonable, especially compared to the prices for essentially the same food a block down the street. The restaurant had a nice ambiance (we enjoyed looking at the maps under the glass at our table), and a decent selection of beer on draft. All I all, we had a good experience and will likely return on our next visit to town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripleKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish House also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing