We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Great Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Irie's Island Food

Irie's Island Food
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Irie's Island Food is an extra casual, very small restaurant serving lunch only. Hours of operation are seasonal in this vacation town. We feature fresh handmade food prepared by the chef/owner who is a graduate of the Culinary institute of America. Creative tacos on house made tortillas, Hawaiian, Asian, American/tropical, and international cuisine is offered at our establishment. We also make New Orleans style beignets from scratch, roast our own coffee, and even have creme brulee to go!
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What A Great Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

There cannot be over a half a dozen tables inside and that just adds to the whole experience. The food was fresh and tasty--perfect for a late lunch. The staff was very friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    83
    18
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat in Port Aransas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I absolutely love coming to this great little eatery. Today, I had one of the best chili dogs ever! The chili is home-made and the owner-chef uses dried chilis from New Mexico in his secret recipe. My wife had a pork taco on a home-made, lard-free flour tortilla that uses a canola oil-blend instead. Next time, we intend to try one of their lobster/crab tacos. No MSG in any of their recipes. The prices are very reasonable and the owners are very gentle, kind, helpful and hospitable. They deserve all the business they get. They are open for breakfast and lunch and close at 3:00pm. Come in for a wonderful treat; you'll love it as well!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Only open for lunch, much to the chagrin of some of their fans, Irie's is an amazing little joint in Port Aransas - a little town with a lot of food options...most of which leave a lot to be desired. Oppositely, Irie's is fresh, fast and done right. From the inventive and varied menu to the quick and friendly service, one can tell that this is a family run opp and that they clearly love doing what they do.

We should all be so lucky - but at least we can enjoy an incredibly flavorful bite and absorb some of that love that the owners have!

Irie's is a must stop for lunch when in Port Aransas!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Super cute! Delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a really adorable island food "shack". The food was so delicious and unique, the people were very nice. Great experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AHang9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Agree with all the good reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Came here 3 times during our week in Port A. Yummy, creative, fresh gourmet-ish food for reasonable prices for what you get. Friendly, fast, unpretentious little place. Just a few tables. Wished they did dinner.

Helpful?
Thank travellingfool78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irie's Island Food also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Irie's Island Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing