We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get away”
Review of The Mayan Princess

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mayan Princess
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very nice ...Staff is very friendly and helpful. Very clean and pleasant for being right on the gulf coast beach.
The pools and pool area is very well kept. 3 pools + a hot tub. Very nice.
Was a great week end get away for us on our 35th anniversary.

Thank You for the great time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managementstaff009, General Manager at The Mayan Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Congratulations on your 35th anniversary and thank you for staying with us at the beautiful Mayan Princess. My staff strives in giving our guests the best possible customer service and I appreciate your comments. Also, thank you for mentioning our beautiful pools and hot tub. You sound like you really enjoyed your stay and hope you return to see us soon. Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We happened to visit while there was a ton of seaweed washed up on the beach & in the surf, so instead of spending much time on the beach & in the gulf water, we enjoyed using the pools at the Mayan Princess. I noticed the maintenance crew regularly cleaning the 3 pools, keeping them in great condition. There's also a nice hot tub. Around the pools there's plenty of seating: chaise lounges and chairs & tables with umbrellas. The landscaping is complete with a lawn (only a few stickers noticed), waterfall & some bird of paradise plants & palm trees. Beyond the pools there's a horseshoe pit (not sure if they supply horseshoes) & also a place to play beach volleyball. And there's a sturdy boardwalk for easy access to the beach.

We stayed in Unit 114. For several reasons, I wasn't as happy with the condo as I was with the pools. When we checked in, the dishwasher was still completing its cycle, so I had to unload those dishes before we could use it later. I know this is minor, but I've never had to do that at any other place we have stayed. That should have been part of making the condo ready & welcoming for us. The king sized bed was comfortable, but the comforter had a tear in it & looked worn & a little dirty (we just pushed it off & didn't use it). There was evidence that the floor had not been swept or vacuumed properly, so we kept our shoes on while inside. The patio had an empty beer can & cigar butt on the ground. We called & the staff came & picked up that trash. The closet had no coat hangers. The shower water was almost scalding hot unless you turned the dial carefully to one spot where it was still hot, but manageable. The living room ceiling leaked in several places (it was dripping the whole time we were there) right onto the carpet in the middle of the room. We reported this, but nothing was done about it. In the kitchen there was an upper cabinet door that was only attached on the bottom & almost fell on me when I opened it. The two bar stools need to be either repaired or replaced. They are wobbly & feel like they are about ready to fall apart, accidents waiting to happen. At night the bedroom does not get completely dark. There are blinds, but no light-blocking curtains & the light from outside shines in.

On a positive note, the air conditioner worked great & the place was peaceful & quiet. There was no construction noise while we were there. The unit has a nice view of the pool & with the mirror on the living room wall, the nice view is doubled.

Room Tip: Ground level condos are less expensive. From upper floors you can view the gulf; however, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Pentalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managementstaff009, General Manager at The Mayan Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for you response. Yes, our pools and pool area are one of our main assets, and our guests love them. We also maintain them continuously. The Boardwalk allows easy access to the beautiful beach, which at times, mother nature does wash seaweed onto the beach. The unit you stayed in is a beautiful unit, and you will be pleased to know the Owner of that unit is going to do some remodeling during the off season. Again, we look forward to your return visit.
Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My family rented two units at the Mayan Princess (314 and 211) for our stay in Port Aransas this year. The check-in experience was slow, frustrating and unwelcoming; but the beautiful view of the ocean from our units made it almost okay. Both units were clean enough, but far from stellar. I didn't realize until we got there that we had no bathtub in 314, so bathing a toddler was challenging. The kitchen is nicely updated, but the shower stall in the second bathroom in that unit is very small and cramped and water pressure is low. The kitchen in 211 is dingy and definitely needs updating. We had a thunderstorm one morning and the ceilings in both 314 and 211 leaked badly. The pool area is beautiful, but only about half of the tables had umbrellas and there is no natural shade out there until evening. Seems like an inexpensive fix, but it appears the management of this property cuts corners wherever possible. Construction noise was terrible throughout our stay - so much so that I feel all renters should have received a rate reduction during this "emergency" repair. Sandblasting and roaring compressors completely ruined our last day. Couldn't even enjoy a swim in the pool. This property is in a beautiful location and has many lovely features, but for the money, we will look at other options next time. The Mayan Princess could be so much better than it is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Applepie73112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managementstaff009, General Manager at The Mayan Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Our apologies to you on your stay at The Mayan Princess. We did have an emergency repair on one of our bridges that connects the two buildings. This was a safety issue and for the security of our valued guests, a repair had to be made. We certainly hope you will return on a future visit, and look at our website to view or take a virtual tour of any of our units. Our repair has been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Have visited this place every year for last five years so I know what it can be like. With the right room and weather, you can have easy access to pools and a better part of the Port A/Corpus beaches, plus decent views. That's what has kept us coming back. This time, however, was our least pleasant experience. Check-in was not available until 5.30pm even though we turned up at 4pm. When we did get in to Room 204, the bed was not made with clean sheets but appeared to have been quickly remade with whatever the last guests were using, and they'd left the signs to show it! At this point, after waiting 90 mins to check-in, we just put on a wash and made our own bed.

However, small and individually perhaps insignificant little problems emerged which collectively cooled my enthusiasm for this place. Several lights were out, there were no batteries in the safe or in the bedroom TV remote, so neither could be used. Fixtures and fittings in this room were definitely aging, the grip bar in the jacuzzi was off the wall at one end, and there was just a lack of comfortable seating in the main area (one old sofa and one chair). The main seating area also shows signs of ant infestation.

The deck area also lacked any real comforts -- two plastic chairs and a lounger but no table, and as a bonus, someone above was 'sandblasting' that deck so as to rain crap down on us during the day (and washing their cigarette butts down too when it rained the next day).

Outside, the place is also looking tired. There were broken seats and at least two non-functioning sun shades on tables in the pool area. So, this is near the end of the season and the place probably needs to be refurbished. If you think that's ok, then perhaps the price should reflect this too but it does not - you are paying top dollar so every night should be top quality. Staff are friendly but don't seem very empowered to make anything happen (and I really could live without the cleaner ringing the door at 8am on the day of departure). We wanted to swim and relax so we put up with it but if I were there for longer than a few nights, I'd have ripped off by the prices and quality on offer. Oh, and there's building work going on, again....seems to be every year. Will probably avoid the Mayan next time.

Room Tip: PS - for those not from round these parts, understand that many folks there like to drive onto the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar515112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managementstaff009, General Manager at The Mayan Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We want to thank you for your recent stay at The Mayan Princess and apologize for the problems you have described. We would have been more than happy to accommodate you some way or move you to a different unit to satisfy you, if you had let us know. We have had an emergency building repair that had to be taken care of immediately, other wise all of our building maintenance is done in the off season. Again, I apologize and certainly hope you will come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Wanted to take a quick trip to Port Aransas beach with my grandkids. Only unit available at the Mayan Princess was 104. Ground flood unit. Decorated okay and everything was very clean. However, the drawers in bathroom kept falling out and the cabinets didn't close. The dryer took overnight to dry 4 towels. You could not set the A/C below 70, so if you opened the patio door at all, during the day, the unit never got down to 70, which was fine during the day, but was warm at night for sleeping.

Overall the unit 104 was okay and would stay there again, if another unit wasn't available.

Room Tip: High units have a much better view of the beach. Ground floor all you can see is the sand dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOWEPLACES3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managementstaff009, General Manager at The Mayan Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us at The Mayan Princess. We value all of our guests and appreciate your business. The unit you stayed in is a great unit. The next time you decide to visit, you can go to our website themayanprincess.com and select a unit and take a virtual tour of any of our rental units. We look forward to seeing you again.
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Wanted to try something new. Upon pulling up building looks good but up close you can see the age. Checking in was nice and easy. Lobby area us inviting. 3 separate pools with 1 swim up cabana but no bartender & hot tub surrounded by palm trees. Nice lit up board walk to the beach. Stayed in uni t 207. Very close to elevator. Very clean. Stove was not working & neither was the phone. Maintenance came up & fixed stove right away. Never got a working phone. Balcony overlooks pool & gulf. Nice walk in shower. Decor is beachy. Despite the construction going on, which prior to our arrival, we were not informed of, the stay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pace4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managementstaff009, General Manager at The Mayan Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

I am very pleased you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at The Mayan Princess. We have just completed a remodel of our lobby and appreciate your nice comments. We are in the process of doing an emergency repair to our top 5th floor bridge. We certainly apologize for this but something that has to be replaced. The unit you stayed in is a great unit and a brand new walk in shower was just installed in the unit. I am glad you enjoyed our three beautiful tropical pools, and certainly hope you return for another stay with us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We just returned from Port A and had a wonderful time staying in this incredibly well maintained unit. The room is on the second floor and has a great view of the gulf. It was easy getting to and from the beach every day with the boardwalk and elevator access. We loved the jacuzzi bathtub and shower in the master bedroom. The unit is VERY nice and well worth the money. It has all the amenities you need to make your stay as homey as possible. The kids loved it too and did not want to leave!! We will definitely visit again and request this unit! :) ❤

Room Tip: 215 was a wonderful place to stay. The kids loved it and did not want to leave.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managementstaff009, General Manager at The Mayan Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the unit and will pass your comments along to the Owner. The Mayan Staff strives to make each guests stay as wonderful and comfortable as you described. We look forward to your return visit.
Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
7.8 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
8.3 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
359 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
856 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.1 mi away
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayan Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayan Princess

Address: 7477 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-2009
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range: £76 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayan Princess is quite simply the best beachfront family vacation destination, on mustang island! With our very distinct architecture and 3 lagoon pools we are definitely one of a kind. The property is currently under new management as of November 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Hotel Port Aransas
The Mayan Princess Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing