We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch”

Island Cafe and Smokehouse
Ranked #34 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our family had lunch here on a weekend afternoon. The waitress was friendly, and everyone found something they liked - club sandwich, chicken fingers, burgers...all priced very reasonably. They have added a children's menu, but our kids ordered from the adult menu and were very pleased with the sandwich and chicken. We were there at an off-time, so maybe we lucked out that no-one was smoking, but the place didn't smell smokey or anything. They had lots of cute decorations up for Halloween and that was entertaining to the kids. Overall, very nice experience good value and pretty good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doodlebug4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    75
    33
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Krum, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had breakfast here, the food was good, although not outstanding. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Lunch, on the other hand was the bomb! The fish was the best I had on the island, the batter light and done to perfection. Great fries to go with it.

Portion size was enormous -- could easily feed 2 or 3 from one lunch!

Will return for more of that!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average, nothing bad and nothing great - good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Restroom was clean, restaurant was clean and we cleaned our plates. Just one place to go if other places are too packed, convenient & close to main roads.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoureMyButterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
148 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I rate this high because of the breakfast. Nice Southern food. Over easy eggs cooked perfect. Biscuits and gravy, hash browns, and bacon are cooked very homestyle. All the food I saw going by looked really good.

Our service was fast. We did go off season on a Friday morning. Mostly locals were there at that time and it wasn't too crowed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank offseasonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food without fancy fuss.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

The place is a dive, no doubt. Don't expect fancy service and presentation. But the gumbo was better than fancy places up on Trout St and the pie was homemade. Gravy and chicken fingers were yummy and the blackened mahi was good too. Don't expect high class waitresses and beautiful decor, but it was a good meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Cafe and Smokehouse also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Cafe and Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing