We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a normal place, with good old normal food”

Island Cafe and Smokehouse
Ranked #32 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just a normal place, with good old normal food”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I've grown up going to Port A, and have always loved Island Café. It was one of the first stops and last stops when it was by the ferry landing, and now we do go for breakfast one morning and lunch or dinner the next. Good old fashioned hamburgers, and good old fashioned breakfast, i.e. bacon or sausage, eggs and toast or biscuits. Nothing fancy, just good food..and priced reasonable, even for a resort town. enjoy! It's perfect for family, friends, couples, or just by yourself.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank betbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    75
    33
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great homemade breakfast”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This seemed to be about the only place open for breakfast on a Monday. There was a steady crowd. We had to wait a while before our order was taken, but hey, we're on island time, right?! I ordered the shrimp omelette and it was delicious. The home made hash browns were very good too. My husband ordered the two eggs with grits, homemade (seemed to be anyway) biscuits, and ham slice. He said all of his food was good. We didn't get to see a lunch or dinner menu, but will definitely keep this in mind for another meal while we're in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pocahontas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Junebug served on a hamburger!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Cook put a "prize" for my daughter on her hamburger... A JUNEBUG...still whole and intact, but dead. Within seconds of finding the Junebug, the Waitress then accidentally spilled my husbands large cup of water all over his food. We left.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teaniebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great breakfasts on the island”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

this downtown cafe is very popular and has great breakfasts at reasonable prices. Fast friendly service. Traditional breakfasts. Have not tried other meals. Easy to access. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmiller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home cooking for a fair price”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The food was good, and there were lots of choices. Café was clean and in good shape. Waitress and other staff very friendly. Overall a great place to eat!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Cafe and Smokehouse also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Cafe and Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing