We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bungalo in Port A”
Review of Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachcomber
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed 6 February 2013

4 years strait now we have chosen to stay in our favorite room at the Beach Comber in Port A.
Low key, easy going, close to the beach and everything we need to stay comfortable during our annual spring break from the snow and cold of Northern New Mexico.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

This was our first time to Port A, and staying here had a big part in making our trip great. It is close to the beach, close to town, and the owners were very nice. The BBQ area was great. The hot tub water looked a little greenish so we decided not to get in, which was a bummer. The property could use a little maintenance, yes, but it was still quite charming, and we loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lausmi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

By no means a resort, the Beachcomber is a clean and comfortable place to stay in Port A. Just a few block from the beach, it's secluded and quiet. The patio areas have tables and chairs so they're a nice place to sit outside. While the decor is dated (has not been undated in a very long time), I was told by the manager at check out they're planning to paint and update furnishings in 2013.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rthorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber Motel for the first time over Thanksgiving 2012. It is a very small property but we really liked that aspect of it. We kind of felt like we had our own private place. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.
The kitchen was fairly well stocked which is unusual these days.Outside of each room is a small patio area which we made the most of. We appreciated the fact that we were by the beach but also within walking distance of the convenience stores. I even walked to the IGA for a few groceries and it took less than 10 mins to get there. This is an older property and does need some work done to it but that can be said for all of the old places on the island. The one downside to our room was that the people staying above us had children who woke up at the crack of dawn. It sounded like they were practicing for a footrace at 6:00a.m. Thankfully they left the 2nd day of our stay. Another item to be aware of is that in some of the rooms the bathroom is only accessible by going thru the bedroom. This was not a problem for us but could be for some groups.
If you are expecting a high end hotel you will not be happy here but if you want an affordable, clean place you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you don't mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank grstexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

When staying at the Beachcomber you really do get what you pay for. The price is great. I am a little late in writing this review, but we stayed there in July during the busy (read expensive) time in Port A.

The cost was cheap for the area and the location is great. This place honestly has seen better days and was pretty old and run down. That is not to say that it was not clean or well maintained. It was clean and everything worked, it was just really old and worn. There was a hot tub and an above ground pool, but we did not check either of them. I did see families using them so I assume they were in working condition.

For us it was perfect though. We really only slept there, our dog was welcome, and it was nice and quite at night. We were on the beach till dark, would shower, go for a late dinner, go to bed and repeat.

I would stay here again. I don't want to hang out at a resort, don't need room service, and would rather spend my money having fun and eating at good restaurants. So, like the title says, you get what you pay for. For me that was a clean reasonably priced place to crash at night.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank j98me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Not terrible place to stay. But u have to be at certain end of room for wifi and there is absolutely no boat parking. Parking is really crowded. Not a bad location. Beach is close. If u are like us and don't spend a lot of time in room....then this is fine. Pretty clean and comfortable. But also feel like you have to clean it spotless when u leave or will be fined.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frogs6974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

After two visits to the Beachcomber Motel, I highly recommend it. It is clean, close to the beach and very inexpensive. This is definitely not a fancy place, so hotel snobs most likely will not be pleased, (older furniture/appliances/structure), but if you are looking for a casual, clean family place, this is it! Additionally, Melissa & Julian offer excellent customer service!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.9 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
360 reviews
2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber

Address: 539 S 12th St, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5415
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range: £69 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Port Aransas, Texas
Beachcomber Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing