We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure filth”
Review of Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachcomber
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pure filth”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After many years of staying here we are DONE! Old & quaint is fine at the beach but short curly hairs on the sheets & filthy bathrooms, walls & towels are not worth being close to the beach. The owners have let this place turn into a pig sty. The pictures on the web site are very old. There is no excuse for a place being this nasty.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kirk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    35
    14
    8
    14
See reviews for
74
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

LOVE The Beachcomber Motel!! Yeah, so it isn't fancy but when you spend most days at the beach and walk the two blocks back to the motel with sand on your feet who cares! We love the price and having a full kitchen because we have food allergies and have to make all of our own food. It was clean and comfortable. Funky mural on the wall. We loved staying here! I have to have a hot tub because of pain, so that was a plus. The salt water above ground pool was refreshing. We stayed four days in number 9, an efficiency, Steve, the owner was so helpful with giving us information and making us feel at home. Melissa, his daughter, was wonderful getting our reservation set up and telling us about local eateries that cater to special diets. Cheri was wonderful as well getting us set up when we arrived. We look forward to coming back often to Port A and staying at the Beachcomber!

Room Tip: If you are bringing kids, you might want to get a one bedroom so you can have privacy. Depends on h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorellajenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had another great vacation at the Beachcomber . This was our 9th year to stay, will be back next year. :) it's wonderful to be able to take your pets with you and also being able to park our boat!! Clean, comfortable, affordable and everyone that stays is soon friendly. Best place by far!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 06466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista, Arkansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The woodwork was filthy--had to clean that. All walls needed paint desperately. The carpets were filthy and worn out and old. In the livingroom the chair cushion had a big rip in it and also was dirty, and futon was dirty and worn. I had to put extra sheets on the furniture so we could sit on it. Coffeepot was all rusted out. Bed was not comfortable. One window was duct-taped over a big hole and air conditioner just barely ran, it was so rusted.. Some of the cooking utensils had to be re-washed. One day a young man came to spray for bugs and was there a total of 20 seconds, if that--sprayed one little place and walked out. What a joke!! We didn't think it was going to be something high class, but at least, it could have been in good repair and clean. One day, while in town, someone asked where we were staying. We told them and they said they had heard "horror" stories about that place.Some people in at least two of the other units were complaining about how dirty their places were and they had to clean before settling in.The best thing was, the location had great access to the beach. We love Port A, but next time we will stay at another place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have stayed in the beach comber hotel twice now. It is near the water, they allow pets,
the staff are very friendly, there is an outdoor pool and hot tub, the rooms have kitchens, etc.
I had no complaints either time I stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Clean, comfortable, close to beach, affordable. It's not fancy, and if you need amenities and room service, it's not for you. I stayed there twice last summer and have been twice this summer with two more reservations booked! Great place for families or groups, and pets are allowed. Love this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Nice little beach condo at a great no-frills price. Beach access was a breeze, and the spot being pet-friendly was definitely a plus. Also a great opportunity for smaller groups to stay within the same facility.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulciber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber

Property: Beachcomber
Address: 539 S 12th St, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5415
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Port Aransas, Texas
Beachcomber Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing