We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly built but friendly cockroaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poorly built but friendly cockroaches”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed only 1 night but made friends with a couple of big cockroaches. Plenty of heat... The thermostat wouldn't shut off had to have them shut it off at the breaker panel at midnight so we didn't bake. No insulation between floors meant we got plenty close to the people up stairs. No hot water at the bathroom sink was also quite pleasant.On a good note the night staff was very friendly and helpful... Day shift could learn something there. "My manager isn't here" isn't a fix all answer.
Should have just thrown our money out the window on the drive down and slept in the car on the beach...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingman501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieJohnsonZJZ, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hello Travelingman501,

I am so sorry to hear that your experience was not up to our standards. We strive to give every guest a positive experience and I am saddened to hear we failed you. I have passed your review onto the staff at this hotel and we are working hard to ensure that these issues will not happen again. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better on your next trip to Port Aransas.

Julie Johnson
VP of Operations
ZJZ Hospitality, Inc
julie@zjzhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    113
    33
    15
    18
See reviews for
132
77
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is just blocks from the beach and very convenient. The front desk clerk, Desda, was very helpful and even offered us a room upgrade! The hotel offers free breakfast every morning which saves $$$. The breakfast consists of breads, scrambled eggs, biscuits, gravy, bacon, fruit, yogurt, cereal and a pancake machine! The one-bedroom suite was very roomy for two adults and two children. I would suggest they put a tissue box in the room. There is a small fitness room and a pool with a hot tub on the property. The hot tub was not very hot, just warm, but on the cool day we were there, it came in handy for the children since the main pool was freezing. Would be nice if the main pool was heated. I would recommend this hotel again. It does not accept pets though.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the third (top) floor if you get annoyed by the footsteps above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi Cathy A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulphur Springs, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I spend our 24 th anniversary at your hotel and it was wonderful! The young man at the front desk was very helpful and informative ,the breakfast was great-I love those cinnamon rolls,and we love that hot tub, your maintenance person helped us with those feel good bubbles and our room was warm, clean,great condition and cozy.God willing we will see you all next year.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverly1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello Beverly1944,
I was so happy to read that you had a memorable time at our hotel. We will look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Excellent attentive staff, good food only room for improvement is get rid of the single beds. I have been in many hotels in many countries over many years ,and never have I been given such a small bed. Recently since February 2013 I have stayed in Park Noble in Guanghzou China, Bastion Hotel in Scheedam , Holland, Holiday Inn, Aberdeen, Scotland, and Stargorod in Kaluga, Russia they did not have small single beds. This is the first hotel in 14 years of working abroad where I have had a single small bed. Too many pluses though.1. Well kept hotel ,well maintained hotel. 2, Excellent attentive staff. 3.Excellently situated within

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearlsimonlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello Pearlsimonlee,
Thank you for taking the time to express your views with us. I am happy to hear that the staff was attentive to your needs. I hope you will come back to our hotel on future business travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed 3 days in July while visiting Port Aransas doing some sight seeing and geocaching. From the time we checked in to the time we left we were thoroughly pleased with our room and the professional staff. Our room was on the first floor and very comfortable. It was always well stocked with towels and bathroom items and the room was alway clean and in order when we returned in the afternoon. The breakfast was awesome, with lots of food and a variety of items from which to select. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub in the evening. The location is convenient to nearby attractions and restaurants. A fine place to stay that won't disappoint!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeToTravel2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello rbrown2895,
Thank you for your kind words. I hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Nice hotel. Clean and comfortable stay. My husband's only complaint was that the breakfast buffet didn't have any tortillas and hot sauce so he could make a taquito. Food was reasonably hot. I got a kick out of the pancake maker. Push a button and in a few moments you had a hot pancake, just add butter and syrup. No mess, no fuss. Pool and hot tub were nice. The hotel was almost completely booked because of a Motorcycle Rally in Corpus Christi, but the crowd was reasonable in Port A. This was a little get-away for our 23rd wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Room 117 was near the back exit and ready access to parking and just down the hall from the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Happy Anniversary to you and your husband, kanastos! That pancake machine is pretty neat, huh? Wish I could have one for my house. :) We hope you will come out and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seguin
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The stay was great and the staff and manager were not only polite but were also extremely accomodating. The manager, Melanie Nixon was exspecially accomodating throughout our stay. The Holiday Inn has such easy access to the beach and is our favorite place to stay for vacation at least three times a year. Our kids love it and the stay was made so much better by the accomodating staff and manager!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hello Gabbi P! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. I'm glad to hear that Melanie and our staff made such a great impression! We hope to see you again on your next trip to the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
843 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Captain's Quarters Inn
Captain's Quarters Inn
#8 of 20 in Port Aransas
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Address: 727 S 11th St, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas. Located on the Texas Gulf Coast, Port Aransas is a one stop destination for fishing, birding, beach combing and relaxation. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure our hotel is proud to be the preferred lodging for quality and service on the island.Our hotel is conveniently located 1.5 blocks from the beach and within walking distance to many of the best shops and restaurants. Our island is home to the Harvest Moon Regatta, UT Marine Science Institute, Newport Dunes Golf Club, Mustang Island State Park and three stops on the Great TX Birding Trail.Our hotel features swimming pool with swim up benches, waterfall, kiddie pool and hot tub for relaxing after those long walks on the beach. Our business-minded guests will appreciate our fully-stocked business center and free Internet access throughout our hotel. Guests also have access to our fitness center equipped with a treadmill, stationary bike and 3 station weight machine.Enjoy a new way to start your day with the complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar. Cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy and crisp bacon have been added to our famous cinnamon rolls and other delicious breakfast items. On your next trip to Port Aransas, remember to Stay Smart and visit us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Holiday Inn Port Aransas
Port Aransas Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing