We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shark Reef Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tropic Island Resort(Port Aransas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Place Hotel(Port Aransas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alister Square Inn(Port Aransas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Suites(Port Aransas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
62
39
19
12
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
39
19
12
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolfresh towelstexas shaped wafflescomplimentary breakfastbring your ownpool and hot tubfamily vacationjenniferbbqcasitapitsroomy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay especially if you have kids!! The staff is very friendly and always kind to every guest. They have a great play area for kids and a nice pool!! I guess it is the maintenance guy that lives on property and he watches over the property also very kind to guests!! Great price and great location!! A few blocks from everything-ferry, shops, dining!! Second time staying here and I will be back with my family next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This was a really clean and pleasant hotel. While it is one of the older hotels it was really nice and the room was really cool and it was over a 100 degrees outside. We had checked into other hotels and they were not as clean or as nice. We highly recommend this hotel.

Odie and Melissa Merrifield

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Shark Reef is a family friendly place and is very affordable.It has a nice pool,picknic tables with BBQ pits and a play area for the kids it also has a volley ball play area for a family game.The rooms are nice and clean and you can keep it as cool or as cold as you want,cable Tv,microwave and small fridge, you can't beat the price I highly recommend you try it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Shark Reef Resort was an average 2.5 star hotel that's locally owned by a family. It was more like a 1-story motel. I didn't like that it was $110/nt, but apparently everywhere was booked with no vacancy that weekend in July. Port Aransas is a pretty small town on the island, but this hotel was located on the opposite end from the main beach. But that's no biggie because it only took 5 mins to drive to the beach.

We got a "King Suite" and stayed in #127. It had a big california king sized bed and a pull out sofa. The room itself was pretty small, no full length mirror (2 half body mirrors, one in the room and one in the bathroom). The bathroom walls was old and worn down, but still usable. Toilet and bathtub was clean. A pro is that it included a mini fridge and a microwave. The TV was a small 20 inch tube that sat on top of the dresser, but we didn't even use it. Each room has it's own AC unit in the wall, so it actually did get really cold once we turned it on.

The facility had a clean community swimming pool in the middle, multiple grills and picnic tables, and a playground set. they also had a sand volleyball court. The main lobby up front had a very nice kitchen to the side of the check-in desk... but I'm not sure if it's open to the public or just for the family's use since they live there.

There's a mexican restaurant located next door that's walking distance called San Juan Restaurant. We didn't try it, but we did get the shaved ice from the small kiosk shack located right in front of the hotel. That was a good treat for $2.25! =)

Port Aransas is a nice getaway if you're close and wanted to get on the beach. Sand was clean, and there were lots of mini waves. Water isn't clear like Destin, FL or anything, but it's still a beach. The seafood was really good at Crazy Cajun and at Moby Dicks, so go eat at those places! and drinks were cheap at Salty Dog Bar with Karaoke too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

After years of coming to the island, We have finally found our"spot" Jennifer and her crew are a happy bunch,nothing they would'nt do to make their resort fresh and inviting.the rooms are very clean including the bathrooms! (moms You know what I mean). Of course the best part for kids, is the fabulous pool, it actually sparkles, it's so clean. Jennifer told us upfront they do not have house keeping in daily, which was FINE with me,they brought fresh towel daily and left a roll of TP if needed, what more do ya need? Thank you Jennifer for such a relaxing vacation. see you next year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poolsharke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews