We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the extra money and stay in one of the new cabins!”
Review of Shark Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shark Reef Resort
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Shark reef is nice family type atmosphere but you definitely get what you pay for!! DONT STAY IF YOU LIKE TV, PRIVACY & CURTAINS! ICE and WIFI cost extra to get it is not free here!
Pay the extra and stay in one of their new cottages they look much nicer! We stayed in a motel king kitchenette. It was the cheapest king that I could find on the island. It had a very small kitchen but everything seems so dirty and reeked of cigarette smoke (in a non smoking room) I was afraid to eat or drink off anything in there.
If you like curtains then bring your own they only have blinds. There were people having a party in the courtyard at midnight and the motel encourages it by the big spot lights outside shining on our room made us feel on display. Couldn't sleep!!
If you like cable tv don't stay here all the channels come in fuzzy on the tiniest tv I think it was a 12 inch old TV set. The pool was nice and clean but it had no hand rails to get in and out of the pool. Also it was just a little small for the number of guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachlover99Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Shark Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is at a great location on Port Aransas. The staff was very nice and offered extra blankets and towels for our family of five. Most other chain hotels do not accommodate more than four persons. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele_9two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I thought this would be a fun little weekend away.... First off they changed the price that my fam ha originally booked. Also the rooms were ok but definitely needed a cleaning bad! The owner is horrible and definitely should not work in customer service! I will never say here again! My daughter also got hurt because their whole shower faucet came off! Never never never stay here spend the extra money or book early anywhere else but not here!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sickfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

didn't stay in the room much but the service was great and the rooms were cozy!! :-) we fished most of the time and they were very helpful on amazing fishing spots!!!!!!!!!!! sldi we were very close too everything we vBulletinaeelyt? gad to drive anywhere except to the beach and the tackle store....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinsondanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is by far the best place we have found to stay on the Island and the new casitas are soooo perfect, they have such a great relaxing beach feel... Only place on the island that we'll stay now.. Rooms are clean and this is a great place for families with kids, great playground and pool area.. Staff and Owner are also awesome and so helpful!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbeyer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We love port a and have tried different places to stay but shark reef inn is the best place to stay. We got to stay in one of the new cottages (the trout) it was wonderful. It was very clean and roomy. The kitchen was so nice and fully stocked. The shower was nice and big. The bedroom was perfect size and the bed was comfy and even the pull out sofa was perfect for two adults. We spent a lot of time out by the pool and on the cover picnic table where we BBQ it was nice, shady and relaxing. We also had friends that stayed in a regular king size bed room. It was also nice and clean for a cheaper price. The staff was friendly and helpful I can't wait to come back and stay for our family vacation. Thanks shark reef inn!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rikki1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

motel service is bad, owner is rude and a lire ,they will book you and promise you your room ,we got there late like we told her we will be due to son getting off late from work ,after a 254 mile drive to Port Aransas ,we were told that we had no reservation and had no one by our last name there, even after proving her wrong she still denied our reservation,so we were left with no room specially being the memorial holiday ,we also found out by other stranded travelers that were supposed to have a room there that they were treated the same way ,and we also were told by other motels on the island that they (shark reef ) would over book reservations and fill them in on a first come first serve basis and scratch the other off so do not go there a bad place will never stay there .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Romeo25GeorgetownTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shark Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark Reef Resort

Address: 314 Cut Off Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4203
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range: £48 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shark Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shark Reef has 3.5 Acres for fun in the sun featuring our remodeled heated pool area, kid's great jungle-gym playground, basketball court, yard games and picnic area complete with bar-b-ques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Shark Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shark Reef Hotel Port Aransas
Shark Reef Resort Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing