We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for drinks!”
Review of Back Porch Bar

Back Porch Bar
Ranked #30 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Austin, TX / Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We found this place while looking for something other than the usual norm that we always go to. I'm glad we did! It was the mid-afternoon and the weather was beautiful. We walked in and were greeted immediately by the only employee working/bartender. The place only had about 6 customers at the time, so it was pretty slow, but probably because it was a Monday. The bartender was super nice! We got our drinks very quickly and sat down at one of the tables. The mixed drinks were delicious and the view was awesome! You're right there with the boats and it was just relaxing. No food, but great drinks. So if you want to grab a drink and kick back, this is the place to be!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinCityJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Refugio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Bar on the Island”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Year in and Year out The Back Porch is the Bar you want to be at. It is located on the water front over looking all the action of the boats. It also has the Best live music on the Island. Their is not another Bar on the Island that can compete . It is the place to be.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemarlin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
268 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Chilly out but fun place!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We went the day before the Back Porch closed for the season (one day shy of Turkey Bowling...gaaaaahhh!). It was also the weekend after Thanksgiving, which happened to be right after the first nasty cold front of the year, so it was a little chilly. However, we camped out under one of the propane heaters and just sipped our beers.

There's no food, but the views are awesome and the beer was cold! As far as the waitstaff goes, we really enjoyed our waitress. I can imagine it's a lot more hectic during high season, but keep in mind...you're on island time! Just relax and if you're going to be drinking a lot, I'm pretty sure they've got buckets with ice! The band was a lot of fun and I will definitely be going back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineBooksWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I live here.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is not a restaurant, but a bar that has great music. You can purchase good food next door, about 50 steps away. The music venue changes, but my husband and I have never been disappointed. Check the website for upcoming music. The atmosphere is awesome and you are right on the marina side.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
2 Thank 8888beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
433 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Lotsa live music with a terrific view, but”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We went to Port A a coupla weeks ago and dropped in for a few sun-downers ... we really enjoyed the music, but the staff was a little slow ... they need to add a coupla of more servers for better table service ... we moved to the bar and the service didn't improve ... I've been to the Back Porch many times and it's always the same story about service ... "Island Time " for sure ... I'll always go back 'cause they have great live music and they stay open late ... go with friends and have a great time ... just remind the girls that good service gets good tips!!! ... No problema

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinbad5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Porch Bar also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Back Porch Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing