We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Dunes

Island Dunes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Dunes
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our family of now four generations have been to Island Dunes in Port Aransas for several "beach" vacations (as many as 15 of us). Manager Kim is knowledgable, helpful, and accommodating. Condos are comfortably furnished--no two alike!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithville, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

WE go to Port A 3-4 times a year and only stay somewhere else if Isalnd Dunes is booked. Kim (the property manager) is always helpful, friendly and genuinely wants you to enjoy your stay and have a great time. She knows us by name these days and we always look forward to seeing her and staying there! Give it a try, you'll love it! Always clean and everything in working order. Enjoy your stay there, I know we always do!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

When i booked the condo for this weekend (9/14-9/16) it wasnt supposed to rain all weekend according to the weather report (which changed from one day to the next) turned out to be a perfect weather weekend & my best vacation yet. I called the office to let them know that i wouldnt be getting in till late that evening around 8 & they arranged for me to get in at the time i arrived. Very quite area,property was very clean and kept up. I was kind of skeptical on this place because there were not alot of pictures but when i got there everything was very nice. I will be staying here from now on whenever i come to Port A

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 210evolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed in condo 1406. Nice place, close to beach, out the front door and and five minute walk.
rooms are spacious. Pool is nice, clean, grass is freshly cut and Kim is very nice and accomodating. It is quiet, and comfortable. Will definitely come back next year

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank copm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We've been taking semi-annual trips to Port A for years, and stay at Island Dunes each time. The project is well-maintained and the staff is excellent and very friendly. Each apartment is different, but all are fine (some fancier than others). It's a short walk to the beach, quiet (no noisy evening parties, like some places), and has a good pool if the beach isn't a good option. The prices are very reasonable compared to the competition. No complaints!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Grounds are always kept up, which makes it nice when you come back from the beach, freshly cut green grass to walk on. The pool area is always kept up, it has plenty of chairs and tables around it. Very friendly management & staff every time we have called & visited the property. Been their at different times of the year, always the same maintenance on the property. The two bedroom condos are nice and roomy, upstairs is a private bedroom with a full bath, and downstairs a private bedroom and a full bath in the hallway. We have been visiting there for quite awhile now. We have been in different units on the property over the years and have never been disappointed, always furnished nice and very clean, kitchen has what you need.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in an updated condo #1504 and we loved every minute of it. We walked out out front door and walked right to the beach. Wonderful!! Grill is included for when we caught fish. Storage is good. And condo sleeps six.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mustangislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Dunes

Property: Island Dunes
Address: 715 Access Rd 1A, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Island Dunes Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing