We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amelia's Landing Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Clean and reasonable”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

From the website pictures, I was expecting simple accommodations with a touch of airplane history and I was not disappointed. The room was larger than I expected and clean and comfortable. The location was convenient to restaurants and shops. It would have been a long walk or a shorter bike ride to the beach. The pool and hot tub were also quite clean and handy on a hot day. The staff and management were friendly and courteous, but they did question our concerns about the air conditioner which was not keeping up with the 85 degrees of heat outside. It had been set on 63 by a prior inhabitant (guest or housekeeping we know not) A box fan procured by reception, cooled us off enough for sleeping and we had little more trouble with the AC until the morning of our departure. Management failed to contact us about this problem until we checked out. We greatly appreciated the dog-friendly policy and dog run.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiker912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    54
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
34
71
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We chose Amelia's because we were bringing our Springer Spaniel with us and needed dog-friendly accommodations. It was a great choice. Most of the rooms have been remodeled but the dog friendly rooms retain their vintage charm and ours was very clean. The fenced off-leash area was a great help. If we find our way back to Port A, we'd stay here again, with or without our pup.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Fremontkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We flew into the little airport and used our folding bicycles to make the 2.3 mile trek to the hotel. It was perfect as we made a few stops at gift shops and a lunch venue along the way. Our room was clean and just right for the two of us. The hotel is in a great location and we were able to ride our bikes short distances or walk to points of interest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a last minute trip for us to Port Aransas and we went without reservations. We decided to try out this independent hotel located right on the main street, close to everything. We were able to secure a walk in reservation and the price was reasonable despite it being Saturday night in May. We stayed in a single room with Queen bed. The room was decorated nicely, clean, comfortable bed with nice sheets and pillows. We had a microwave and minifridge along with a full sized coffeemaker. The bathroom was very clean, molded tubsurround with good water pressure. Flatscreen on the wall opposite the bed (probably about 32 inch screen) and free wireless. DVD player was hooked up to use and there are movies available to watch in the office although I didn't check out the selection. The airconditioning unit worked well and we used the remote control to adjust it during the night which was really nice.
Continental breakfast was delivered to the room around 7:00AM in a covered plastic bin which included a pack of coffee for the coffeemaker. Nice selection for the continental breakfast. Muffins, fruit cocktail, granola bar, orange juice. The bin is left outside your room until you wake up. You make your selections for breakfast at checkin and then each day with breakfast delivery for the next day.
The pool was clean with plastic lounge chairs, some tables with regular chairs and an "above ground" hottub big enough for probably 4, maybe 6 people. There was a grill located by the pool for guest use.
We brought our bikes with us and left the car in the parking spot the entire time we were there since we were able to bike everywhere including the beach. Restaurants, bars and shopping were within walking distance and the IGA grocery store is about 2 blocks away. Very friendly staff!
We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband made the reservation trying to surprise me with a long weekend trip to Port Aransas (I usually take care of hotel reservations). Being a pilot he really wanted to check the place out and go during the Sandfest. Well apparantely this place has a cancellation fee of a full nights room rate if you do not cancel within 7 days before arriving during the Sandfest event. Since we are general aviation enthusiast, we could not make that determination within that time frame as to how the weather (we were coming from North Texas) would be for us to travel. Once that week came and we got closer to our travel date we made the decision within 72 hours that we would not be able to fly due to the weather forecast, so I called and cancelled and explained the situation as to why we could not come. The person on the phone (which happened to be the owner - I did not know that at the time) told me we would have a cancellation fee of one nights rate (170+) because it was the Sandfest weekend. I was baffled about this, and after thinking about it I called back to speak to a manager, which at that time found out I had already spoke to the owner, so I left a message for her to call me back. Which she did and left a lengthy message on my voicemail as how it was a big event weekend so they have that policy 2x's a year. Well if you have a such a big event and have to turn people away wouldn't you think they are booked, and will most likely be able to rent the room? And for the price of the room I would think it would be a top notch hotel? I had NEVER had a hotel charge me a nights room rate for a late cancellation! Apparantely the owner does the renovations herself because I called back 2x's after she left that message and was told both times she was working on a room? On my last call I left a message asking if she would at least give us credit towards a night stay in the near future as we have never been there and do plan on going. I am still waiting on that returned phone call. Needless to say I will NEVER stay at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjhoneck, Owner at Amelia's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for highlighting our Special Event cancellation policy. As always, there is far more to the story...

This guest's husband booked the room, and was actually advised NOT to make a reservation, because the special event 7-day cancellation policy was in effect.

(We have had a 7-day cancellation policy for special events for 12 years. Our normal cancellation policy is 72 hours. This policy is stated, in writing, on our website and Facebook pages.)

Since these folks were flying a small plane to the island, we (as pilots ourselves) know that it's always possible for the weather to go downhill, making it impossible to fly in. This is why we normally offer fly-in guests an "IFR weather cancellation policy" on regular, non-special-event weekends.

Because this was SandFest, this guest was specifically told that we could not offer this type of last minute IFR cancellation, and was therefore advised against making a guaranteed reservation. He assured us that he would make it, one way or another, and guaranteed the reservation with his credit card.

Sandfest attracts nearly 200,000 people to our tiny island -- there is no event more "special" than that! Many hotels here have gone to mandatory prepayment up front, in advance, no cancellations allowed, for SandFest. We have resisted this, because we understand that occasionally life intervenes, and you must make a change in plans. 7 days gives our guests a way out, if needed, and gives us enough time to re-book the room, as required.

When this guest made his reservation, he was specifically told, verbatim, that he would be charged if he cancelled within the last 7 days. He assured us that he would have no trouble making it. The flying weather for the event was perfect. There were no extenuating circumstances of any kind. This guest actually cancelled just 48 hours in advance, which was not just inside our special event cancellation period, but was inside of our regular 72 hour period as well.

We followed our procedures to the letter and will do the exact same thing in the future. The cancellation policy was clearly stated up front, and the guest was advised AGAINST making a reservation if they thought there was any chance they might not make it. They chose to make a guaranteed reservation, and then chose to cancel it, knowing full-well they would be charged. There were no surprises here.

The bottom line is this: A reservation is a contract. You give us your credit card number in exchange for us guaranteeing that room. If you don't think you can come -- DO NOT MAKE A GUARANTEED RESERVATION.

I don't know how to make it any clearer.

Blue skies and tailwinds,
--
Jay Honeck
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went to the 2014 Sandfest (April 11-13) and, once again stayed at A.L. This time in the Amelia Earheart room #23.

Much improvement around the place and, the owner's kind as ever. Not such a great value on this particular event but all else overshadowed. Had a great time on the island.

Room Tip: Personally, I don't find much wrong with surprises if the management has proven it worth...such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stilwell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We drove done on a whim from Arkansas to escape the cold , looked online and called! We were impressed with the cleanlinest and funky aviation themes! Nice pool ,outside hottub, and grounds. It is a small property but in the middle of everything. Dining ,bars, grocery store. The beach is close but easier to drive too. Great folks , very friendly and very easy on the budget! We are planning next jan-feb to stay here again! check it out!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickscove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.4 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia's Landing Hotel

Property: Amelia's Landing Hotel
Address: 105 N Alister St, Mustang Island, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4008 (Formerly Harbor Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amelia's Landing Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia's Landing is an aviation themed boutique hotel in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. The hotel has finished renovation in 2015, with all new HDTVs, beds, unique historic artwork and memorabilia, pool, hot tub and propane grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Amelia's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia's Landing Hotel Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing