We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho-hum Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Ho-hum Experience”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Booked here because it was rated #1 in Port Aransas. Turned out to be nothing special. Hotel lobby under renovation during stay so give them a pass in this area. Room was clean but dated. Exterior of property is dated and in need of tlc and paint. Staff was excellent. Breakfast area just renovated but very poorly laid out. Extremely congested. We ate in the lobby to get away from the herd. Sound insulation is poor and can hear your neighbours. Overall an ok hotel but don't expect anything beyond a 2-star experience. Over-priced for what you get. Fair location but you'll still end up driving everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank erich425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    190
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
308
326
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

First off heated pool!!! ok now that you know that the front staff is awesome. the value for the room is perfect! there is a pizza place across the street. convenience store next to them across the street. newly remodeled rooms with wood floors not carpet (a win in my book as this is easier to clean out the sand) close short drive to the beach or rent a buggy. this is my absolute go to hotel when staying in port a. book early as they sell out quick!!! was 4 total me wife 4.5 yr old and 16 month old. thank you for being an epically awesome hotel. hot breakfast was awesome too!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racktravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have been La Quinta elite members for 10 years and this hotel has made us change out minds. Even though they are remodeling, they made our stay the best. The whole staff is very friendly and helpful. The accommodations were outstanding. The breakfast offers scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles and all the usual cerals, breads, yogurts and muffins. The hotel is only two blocks from the beach. We will be back in April but if we decide to go before, they have heated pool!

Room Tip: Choose close to the pool or far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The service at check in was very good the room very clean , everything worked, and nothing broken. Non smoking room was just that - non smoking - and smelled nice. Staff was friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alamopatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conover, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Relying on TripAdvisor really paid off here. We walked in on what is apparently a busy Festival weekend (whooping cranes). The lady at the front desk let us look at an unoccupied room, then fixed us up with our desired room, then called me at the restaurant she directed us to for lunch (it was great) to tell me the room was now ready. It is probably an older property, but it is immaculate! They were remodeling the breakfast room, but she promised us it would be ready for tomorrow (Saturday) breakfast. I couldn't believe it, but it was. Room was clean, comfortable, remodeled as well. It was rated #1 in Port Aransas by TA, and I certainly agree.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Best Western was exceptional value, the room was clean and the breakfast was good. No in-room safes for valuables. Some jewelry that was unfortunately left in the room went missing, but luckily it wasn't expensive.

There were two breakfast room attendants there during our stay; one of them with black hair and the other was blonde. The dark-haired girl was on the ball, cleared tables quickly and was very helpful - not to mention pleasant. The blonde girl did little, said nothing, let plates pile up on tables and did her best to get in the way at the food station.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaroneMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAlister, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and would stay here again if in the area. It is located about 4 blocks from the water. It is very relaxing. The room was an oversize room which would be good if you needed more space. The only bad thing is that the TV is on the wall over by the bed and you can't use the sofa to see it. They had hardwood floors instead of carpet which is good since we tracked in beach sand. So much easier to clean. Also there were two dressing area sinks-one in the bath and one in the dressing area. That is always a plus for us so we can get ready faster. I know it is wonderful when traveling with kids. There wasn't much noise even being on a main street to the beach. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed our visit. The town is getting more and more stores and restaurants each time we visit. It is easy to find your way around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 2006ranchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.7 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Port Aransas

Property: BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
Address: 400 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Port Aransas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Villa Hotel Port Aransas
Port Aransas Best Western
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing