We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pics are nicer than the actual property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Port Arthur
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I was excited to stay at this property because the pics made it look beautiful and i thought it was an interior corridor. Not the case. Only the king beds are interior. There is no kind of breakfast bar. While the pool had a nice layout but it was not clean. Bugs and dubris were floating about. The staff was neither friendly nor rude. They were just there. No smile or warm welcome at check in. I called the front desk and asked for tissues because there were none in the room and my daughter had a cold. Never did get those tissues. I expected better from a hotel that was $110 a night. I recommend the Laquina across the street. Much better as far as pricing, staff and ALL rooms are interior.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Jessie L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, your comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the inconvenience the overall condition of the hotel may have caused you. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

We enjoyed our two week stay. Rooms are cleaned daily, sheets changed, and the beds are so comfortable. The pool was amazing, surrounded by palm trees,  lounge chairs and tables! The gym was nice with two treadmills, stair-stepper, weight machine, and two TVs. Complimentary bath and bodyworks lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and face/body soap. So much nicer than the normal stinky hotel soaps.  Hotel staff was very friendly. The only con was having to ask for a mini refrigerator and microwave, which should be standard in every room. The hotel restaurant breakfast was overprice and really should have been complimentary for the price of the room. Overall, a nice hotel and an enjoyable stay. 

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetpea590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is a renovated, old Holiday Inn. It is a "full service" hotel with a restaurant. If you get a room, make sure it is in the "tower" or your room will have a door that opens up into the parking lot.

Rooms are modern, wireless works fine, and the restaurant is nothing special but is suitable if you prefer not to venture out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear ALTravellor,

Thank you for your feedback, and choosing our hotel. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel was a last minute decision after the hotel we had originally booked had no water. We were a large party and the hotel was able to accommodate all of us; the rooms very clean, very efficient and the staff was very helpfu and friendly. We initially didn't book this hotel due to some negative reviews on other travel sites, but were pleasantly surprised. Would definitely stay there again if in town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queenie430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This was my second recent stay in a Holiday Inn and the experience was not good. It seems that more attention is placed on giving the hotel a face lift than attending to the basics of a well run hotel. My room wasn't as clean as I would have liked, as I found nail clippings on the floor. The new multipurpose console in my room had a space for a decent minifridge but it was empty. Instead, there was a tiny yet noisy fridge on the floor near the door that I had to unplug because it was so loud. When I used the exercise room in the morning, there were no towels or wipes. The staff at the front desk seemed very poorly trained and unprofessional. Not that I am expecting a lot here. Several times while in the lobby I overheard the receptionist on the phone with her friends talking about last night's party.

But the worst was the poor service. We left prepaid FedEx packages at the front desk to be returned to our office. After two weeks when the packages were not received, my assistant telephoned. The receptionist answered "Hello" (not Holiday Inn). My assistant inquired about the packages and was told they didn't have them. My assistant was persistant and the receptionist looked harder and said "Yes, we have them." She was asked why they were not picked up and she responded "You have to call FedEx youself," something I was never told at the time. When asked "Isn't this a service you provide for your guests?" the answer was a flat "No." Come on! You have packages clearly labeled with names, addresses, and phone numbers that are in your storage for two weeks and you do nothing about it? The hotel must receive daily FedEx shipments and not once could anyone connect the dots/

I'm beginning to think this may be a chain-wide issue for Holiday Inn. Shame on you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahsaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

There aren't any really nice, plush places to stay in Port Arthur to my knowledge, but there was nothing at all wrong with this Holiday Inn. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gladly stored a bag for me the morning I checked out so I could come back and pick it up that afternoon before I traveled home. The lady at the front desk said, "Good morning," and "have a nice day," every morning. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. No complimentary breakfast, but they did have very tasty complimentary coffee every morning. The fitness center was good enough. Had no problems with the internet, television, etc. Overall very good place to stay. Some rooms are entered from inside the hotel, others are entered from the parking lot. I had an "inside room." A friend had an "outside room," and theirs was just as nice as mine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmerswife83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I booked this hotel and didn't think much about it. I have been to this area many times and had passed this hotel several times. Anyhow, I arrived and the front desk was great, check in was a breeze. Then I got to my hotel room that had a very nice plasma tv and the room was great. I mean it was one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in while traveling on the road. The shower had a European shower head, and there was plenty of towels and accessories. The room and bathroom were super clean and smelled clean.

The only complaint I would have would be the A/C unit in my room was dripping a lot of water inside of the unit. I don't fault this on anyone, because August in Southeast Texas can be rough. The unit worked, and worked well and that's the most important part.

I did not have a chance to check out the breakfast bar or any other part of the hotel, but i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattJ2255, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2009

I am very happy to read about your surprising stay here at our hotel. I want to thank you for taking the time to give us a great review and I hope you will come stay with us again if you are ever back in beautiful Port Arthur.

Matt Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Arthur hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Arthur
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Arthur
3.9 mi away
Three Rivers Inn & Suites Port Arthur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MainStay Suites Port Arthur
MainStay Suites Port Arthur
#6 of 19 in Port Arthur
30 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Arthur
0.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#15 of 19 in Port Arthur
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central

Address: 2929 Jimmy Johnson Blvd, Port Arthur, TX 77642-6301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range: £84 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central Hotel offers 164 guest rooms consisting of 101 kings and 7 suites, in a courtyard and tower type setting. Additional hotel features include a tropical outdoor swimming pool, large sundeck, gazebo and patio dining. The Holiday Inn is adjacent to Babe Zaharias golf course and 2 blocks from Central Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central Hotel Port Arthur
Port Arthur Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing