We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be”

Marchan's White Sands Motel, Marina & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Olmito, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I used to drive out to this restaurant for the setting and the fried fish. The setting is the same...set on a finger out on the water with one of the better views for my taste. But the fish is no longer that white white fish but a darker version still fried to perfection. I received the usual french fries where I used to get a baked potato...which I forgot to ask for this time and some slaw that at least wasn't buried in mayo and was tasty. The dinner was average but the service was good and the waitress very nice and offered frequent refills. The fish was not tasty because of their choice of fish but it is all you can eat and I did my best anyway. I won't be going back. I've only eaten fish and that is all I can talk about.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Over priced bland seafood”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I have had seafood all over the island and PI with fairly good experiences but this is by far the worse. We had a variety of plates from ceviche to shrimp and fish and it was tasteless cardboard like fish and shrimp . The service was unprofessional and the food took a long time to arrive even thought they were no busy. Finally the bill was twice as much than what I Usually spend to treat
My family at a nice restaurant. I hate writing negative reviews but this one is deserving as the overall experience was poor.

Helpful?
3 Thank mrmoparhemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
2 reviews
“Like fish?”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Even thur owner change the fish and food still outstanding. The all you can eat fish has a great taste. What's missing is more people to eat there. Prices are lower than others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“No second chances for a first impression”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After reading a number of positive reviews, I was looking forward to trying the all you can eat fish. The good news is, it is all you can eat. The bad news is, you don't want to finish the fish they serve!

When the food arrived, it looked very good. Three large filets of fish, cooked to a golden brown. But, when you cut into it, it was grey. .definitely, not fresh!

Unfortunately, you don't get second chances to make a first impression. You can get a fantastic all you can eat fish dinner a few blocks east for about the same price at Marcella's. It is fantastic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RJ1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fried fish.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This little place is really down-home Post Isabel, popular with the locals, not touristy at all. Great fried fish, shrimp cocktail, and other seafood. Inexpensive too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marchan's White Sands Motel, Marina & Restaurant also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marchan's White Sands Motel, Marina & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing