We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Regular spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Isabel's Cafe

Isabel's Cafe
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My Regular spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I'm from SPI and whenever guests from outside of this area come to visit, I take them to Isabel's at least once for breakfast. Absolutely the BEST breakfast taco's around. The always come out hot and the tortillas are fresh and soft.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HershalP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cutest Little Mom and Pop Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Omlettes were out of the world. I had the veggie version...and hubby had one with sausages. We both loved what we had. It was a weekend and peak time in the morning so we had to wait, but it was worth it. Very cozy, homely, if you like hanging out and tasting the local food...it doesnt get more local than this! Dont expect anything fancy. Will try the tacos the next time I go!
Strongly recommend to go there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DivyaGupta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
731 reviews
597 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Can You Say Copious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Order two of the large breakfast tacos and you will either be moaning about eating too much or taking a bunch to go. Hub cap size tortillas are used to hold copious amounts of breakfast goodies. Served hot and fresh! I have been coming here for 20+ years and can always count on a consistently delicious product. Tortilla has a little more chew than do some of the very light pillowy type, but a softer version would probably split under the weight of the fillings. Have one or two (if you dare) before a day at the beach and you can probably skip lunch (except for the beer of course - after all, you're on vacation).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isabel, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homestyle Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Great place to eat whether you are a tourist or a local. Food is made with love and care. It's extremely affordable on any budget. The enchiladas are spectacular, and that is coming from a person who normally HATES enchiladas. I'm 100% sold on everything.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariachi_chick956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We love to eat here. The food is awesome. I love the breakfast here. When we stay at Port Isabel, this is our goto breakfast spot each day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kemper Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isabel's Cafe also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Isabel's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing