We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but bland food”

Pirate's Landing Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a family waterfront casual restaurant. We are a pirate themed style restaurant and bar on the water.
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our family has been visiting this place for 15 years, and my kids would probably want me to give it 4 stars. The staff are friendly, and the atmosphere is great. The prices are reasonable, but the food is remarkably bland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We all appreciate your comments and patronage. I am not sure about your comment "bland food" We are a family restaurant and try to be conservative with seasonings and spices. Thank You and we all look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants Marcello's, Pier 19, Sea Ranch, and Laguna Bob's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 350 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

The food is some of the most delicious in the area. The evening setting is beautiful. Ask to be seated by the window and you can watch the walkway and pelicans, boats coming and going and the pirate ship. A fun place. Delicious tuna sandwich.

Thank m35sr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We all appreciate your comments and patronage. Thank You and we all look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants Marcello's, Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch, and Laguna Bob's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

had dinner here with the Mrs. Seafood was fresh and abundant. Sauces were well prepared and tasty. No issues with service either.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bucklesplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We all Thank You for your comments and business. Thank You and we all look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants in the future Marcello's, Pier 19, Sea Ranch, and Laguna Bob's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Have been going there every year we go to SpI.We ordered our usual,Fish Po-boy and an Oyster Po-boy.The Fish fillets were huge and then discovered that it was mostly thick breading over a thin previously frozen fillet.The Cole Slaw was mushy and oozing Mayo,we returned it.The Oyster Po-boy was not any better,They were not fresh as they were totally tasteless.We decided to give it another try another day and ask for our favorite.The Mexican Shrimp cocktail that was always served in a large Schooner type beer glass.It was large, tasty and very filling.Now they are serving it in a bowl that you cannot see what is in it.It was filled at the bottom with lettuce which is Never served in a Mexican seafood cocktail .Then they layered it with the tomato,onion mixture,covered it with the shrimp,olives avocado in more mixture.Sure the scenery is nice ,but you can stand or see it from the benches outside and not pay, now even higher prices for poor quality food.Will not be returning,have found a great place down the street where the food is fresh and very reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sylnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. We assure you we are still focused on good food and service. Not sure why you experienced a unpleasant time. We will surely correct all issues. There is always a manager on duty to discuss and get immediate action for your issues. We hope we can serve you again in the future. Looking forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I guess this is a place most tourists would be attracted to. The outside is very exciting and even the inside looks appealing. I ordered Jalapeno Stuffed Shrimp and Coconut Shrimp. The Jalapeno Shrimp lacked any wonderful "heat" from the Jalapenos and the Coconut Shrimp was served without the delicious dipping sauce. Both of the shrimp dishes tastes "frozen". My sister ordered the chicken strips and they had something green (not natural) in them? The manager did take the shrimp off of my bill as they were terrible. I expected fresh seafood from a place so near the coast. Dr. Pepper we ordered was flat and when we tried to explain this to the waitress, it was clear that she could not understand what we were saying. I was disappointed...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebeccca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We appreciate your business and comments. We all thank you for your business and want your continued business. We are sorry you were not satisfied but assure you our seafood is fresh and made daily. We hope to serve you again in the future and assure you this was an isolated incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pirate's Landing Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pirate's Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing