We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save yourself and your health”

Bayside Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Port Lavaca
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Save yourself and your health”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Do not eat here! Still feeling the effects of the food poisoning I got from here. The people were rude when I tried to tell them that I got sick off of there food. The place was dirty. They tried to serve me a wilted salad in an obviously dirty bowl. I should have left right then, but I am too nice. Not any more. Stay away from here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timwoo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    22
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

This food was overpriced floor was dirty table dirty glasses dirty.
Do not eat here. I got charged 20$ for fried food sizzlers across the street was a great chooce compared to this place atleast they are clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryanlange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Much Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We visited Bayside in the early afternoon after the lunch rush and were seated almost immediately. The proprietor herself was on site to seat us. Although the food is pricey, the portions we received were quite ample. When shrimp is selected, jumbo shrimp are automatically served, not the puny popcorn shrimp many places offer by default. These shrimp were close to the size of prawns. Everything was freshly cooked; we wisely waited a few minutes before tucking in to wait for everything to cool. The batter on the fried catfish fillet, fried shrimp, and fried crawfish tails was crispy and light. Fries and cole slaw were requested for the two sides included. The fries were of Very Good quality and neither overwhelming nor underwhelming; just fries. The cole slaw had a very crunchy texture with a barely discernible hint of something Asian...not surprising given the Vietnamese heritage of the owners. The gumbo was a bit of a disappointment - very bland and lifeless roux, but nonetheless bountifully stocked full of andoulle sausage, shrimp, and veg. The fried mushroom appetizer seemed suspiciously like frozen, pre-fab based mostly on the crust which was a different texture and flavor than the other fried items. The decor was rundown and had a slightly seedy aura to it. The good points of this visit more than outweighed the poor points. Ignore the bad reviews and come ahead...just be certain to come with a big appetite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rchrisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“poor gumbo, not fresh fish,”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

batter or crust was almost burnt. The shrimp was chewy. The gumbo was the worst I have ever had a restaurant. Finally, with appetizers, we spent 60 dollars for 2 of us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VICTOR d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royse City, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too pricey for the quality of food......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Decided to try this place out based on the recommendation of the front desk staff at our hotel. The place itself needs an update and it smells like old grease. The food was very pricey yet it was just sub par. It looked like the table before us left their meal in the seat and we had to wipe it down before sitting down. I wouldn't eat here again if I was in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rnorred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayside Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bayside Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing