We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is beautiful, rooms smelled of cigarette smoke and air freshener”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Port Lavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location with beautiful views of Lavaca Bay. The room was beautifully decorated in a contemporary style, recently renovated, and spotless (perhaps the cleanest room we've seen on our two-week road trip). The beds were fantastic as were the pillows. However, the night we checked in, the room smelled strongly of air freshener with a slight hint of cigarette smoke. The air freshener was so strong it was sickening. By the morning, the room stunk of cigarette smoke. All other aspects of this hotel were wonderful, including the bounteous breakfast and gorgeous views from the breakfast room. If the hotel would only clean the carpets, etc. to get rid of the cigarette smoke instead of spraying perfume, I would have given this hotel a five-star overall rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view - it's gorgeous! Make sure you check the smell of your room before settling i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francesraskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed the view and breakfast and comfortable bedding. However, we owe you an apology for the problem you experienced. Even though we make it perfectly clear that our property is 100% non smoking, we unfortunately have guests who disregard that and chose to inconvenience future guests. Ordinarily, our process is to thoroughly cleanse the room, laundering all bedding and draperies, and shampooing the carpet. I am not sure what might have occurred in this case, but assure you I will look into it. I can imagine the fragrance masking the smell of smoke was a bit sickening. We sincerely apologize. And we sincerely appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again. Happy Traveling.

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed here when the air conditioning went out at my home. I was quite pleasantly surprised by this hotel! The rooms are well decorated with a coastal color theme. The room was super comfortable,and very clean as was the rest of the property.Being a lace that often caters to plant workers, I am amazed at how well maintained this hotel was. The desk staff were very courteous,breakfast is actually quite awesome,well prepared and the breakfast that they advertise IS the breakfast you get. A whole lot of variety there and something to please all. The pool area and the grounds are beautifully maintained as well.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled into adding the extra cost of a "room with a view". This is an industr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Donna,

Thank you, thank you, thank you. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. It really does mean alot to hear feedback, both postitive and constructive, as it tells us if we are doing our jobs to the satisfaction of our guests. We do pride ourselves on maintaining a new looking property. We want our guests to feel special and appreciated so we want to give them the best, in accommodations and service. Thank you again for your review. We would love to have you back and hope your got your air conditioning problems resolved. Happy Traveling.

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I went to the Annual Flip Flop Festival and to join family in their barbecue cook off efforts Labor Day weekend and this hotel was fabulous. I had an excellent view of the bay, but I know full well there are refineries nearby. The bed was so comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again! This is probably the best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at in my life!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the bay. It's a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Cynthia,

How delighted we are with the wonderful comments you posted. It is our job to keep this property beautiful and to provide the best service available. It is our priviledge to make sure our guests have fantastic memories of their stay with us. We are happy you got to partake in the Flip Flop Festival. Personally, I have been involved with this fun city event for the past three years and it gets better every year. Be sure to keep an eye out for other events Port Lavaca has. There is some cool things coming up for the holidays. Again, thank you for chosing us. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Happy Traveling.

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Pros: This is beautiful hotel, check in was a breeze and the room was immaculate. The bed was very comfortable and the room nicely furnished. The pool and spa were wonderful.

Cons: We were a little disappointed with the "bay" view with overhead powerlines and oil refineries across the bay. Nothing like watching the sun come up over smoking refineries. The causeway is right next door too. It is close to the Lighthouse Beach, a small strip of land but not what I call a nice beach. We were to check out on Sunday by noon but were disturbed by loud knocking on the door at 8:45 AM!!! Even though we had the sign on the door so we wouldn't be bothered. We complained to the housekeeper who told us people leave the sign on the door and we don't know if they have checked out or not, besides it's Sunday......what does that have to do with anything if check out isn't till 12PM. We mentioned it to the morning front desk girl and she said because of the rapid check out we don't know when you actually leave.......no apology offered at first, just excuses as to why you have housekeeping banging on your door at 8:45AM on a Sunday morning when you're trying to sleep.

We won't be back to Port Lavaca......I have another name for it....Port Laca.....you fill in the rest!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Fish6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your comments about the property and service and want to apologize that the views were not as great as you would have hoped. We also want to apologize for the rude awakening you experienced. We do hope you have pleasant traveling in the future. Again thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

As Priority Reward Club members, we stayed one night with 2 children using reward points so we spent nothing. Check-in was quick and we received our goody bag and an upgrade to the bay view. Clerk was friendly and hotel was clean. Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. View was spectacular in the morning. Breakfast varies each day. We had a hot meal that started our day off right. Pancakes were delicious. We would definitely stay again. Within walking distance to beach. No complaints at this location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbarrera08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you. It pleases us very much to know we impressed you and yours so. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We have to agree that the views are just wonderful and we always hope we add to the memories by giving our guests the best service possible. We truly appreciate your comments and business. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Hope to see you soon. Happy traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent three nights there two weeks back. We got bay view rooms, which were absolutely worth the extra charge. There is nothing like waking up to that view. If is there anything that I regret was that for the price, the room was smaller than others we have stayed on, with no couch/living area, which is very useful when travelling with children. The dinning room and terrace looks out to the bay too, which our children loved! The staff was respectful, gentle, and caring. The lady at the main desk (I unfortunately didn't catch her name) went to the trouble of finding us an address for a local church and writing it by hand when the printer didn't work. The ladies at the dinning room were always patient and got everything that we asked for (within reason, of course). We enjoyed seeing dolphins every day from our room, and small crabs at night. The hotel has an enviable location, it's clean and their staff makes you feel welcome. The breakfast food was good, even the fruit was fresher than most hotels we have visited. The pool was clean, and the spa was also clean and working perfectly, which we have seen not happening in other hotels. The best way to show how much we enjoyed our visit was to hear our children to ask us 'not to leave" and to constatnly ask us on the way back "When are we going back? Can we go back tomorrow?" Thank you very much for a memorable visit, we will surely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Visitor56761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Visitor,

We are soooooooo delighted to hear you and your family had such a memorable stay. I cannot tell you how happy it makes us feel to know we are treating our guests like they should be. How cool your kids loved us. We love kids! Actually, we have a suite that has either a king or two queens. These rooms have a living area that has a sofa sleeper. But, the suites do not face the bay. Next time you are here we will be glad to show you the difference. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. It has definitely caused many smiles from the staff. We look forward to having your family with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

First we arrived and they told us it would be an additional charge for a view of the bay. Okay, so were in our room 10 minutes and a boy about 11-12 years old opens are door with his key card and we are standing there looking like he's getting ready to rob us. I made our reservations on the internet and it was for 2 nights. The next day we go to breakfast and come back to our room and our key card doesn't work. Then we go out to dinner and come back to out room and again our key card doesn't work. First they tell us its our cell phone erasing the code and then they say we didn't say we were staying an additional night so they closed the key from working. (EXCUSE ME!!! I made reservations for 2 NIGHTS on the internet.) Needless to say we'll be staying at the La Quinta Inn next time down the street.

Room Tip: Our room was below running elephants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skanniard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Skanniard,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I apologize for any inconvenience you may
have experienced while staying with us. It would be great to say that we don't make mistakes, but sadly we do. I will look into what might have happened and why someone was sent to your room. The clerk should not have assumed your keys were "wiped' out because of a cell phone. Often that is the case. We appreciate you letting us know about this. We will definitely inform the clerks and make sure this doesn't happen again. As far as being asked to pay more for a bay view room, if a standard room was originally reserved, then our bayview rooms are an upgrade and naturally would cost more. At our property, it is $5.00 more a day. If we didn't charge a little more and differentiate those rooms from standard, everyone would want one without having reserved it. We wish you happy traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Lavaca
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Lavaca
10.8 mi away
Best Western Port Lavaca Inn
Best Western Port Lavaca Inn
#3 of 8 in Port Lavaca
152 reviews
18.3 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Port O'Connor
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca

Address: 2629 State Highway 35 N, Port Lavaca, TX 77979-5213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Lavaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Port Lavaca
Price Range: £108 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing