We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Portland Texas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. Made good recommendations for nearby restaurants, worked to address extending hotel stay. Breakfast each morning good. Evening managers meeting snacks good. Nice comfortable beds, pillows, sheets and blankets. Fluffy white towels, clean well stocked bathrooms. Air conditioner kept room comfortable, without making room too cold. Cable TV selection good. Did have problem with loss of signal, notified the front desk and they followed up and notified me when problem fixed.

I DO NOT like the fact that the room rates change over a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2S2P2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the kind review! Looks like you had a great time in our fine city! Thanks again and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the best staff I have dealt with. Breakfast varied each day and always fresh. The evening social time was pleasent and had snack foods and cookies. Staff very helpful with local information and directions. Close to department stores and easy access to highways.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the fantastic remarks! We do our best to satisfy all guests, whether business or family oriented! Thank you for driving that home! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is great - as always you can count on Hampton Inn standards and you get what you expect. The hotel is nicely situated between Corpus Christi and Port Aransas for a less expensive alternative.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments! I am glad we were able to make your stay a memorable one! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Me and 3 of my co-workers stayed here for our business travel. The breakfast was good and offered a variety everyday. I didn't really partake in the evening meal but they do have a social hour in the evenings with various food choices. I also liked the fact that they had fresh baked cookies in the evening as well. The hotel overall was nice until my co-worker was ate up by bedbugs. She expressed her concerns to the Manager and the Manager made my coworker feels as if she was the one that brought the bedbugs into the hotel. The Manager was unsympathetic and very rude to her. My coworker requested to change rooms and the Manager was non compliant insinuating that she might infest the rest of the hotel. My coworker was outraged at how she was being talked to and treated and therefore checked out and went to another hotel. My coworker had a witness as to how she was being talked to and treated and took pictures of the bedbugs as well. They were in her sheets, bed and in the headboard. We will NEVER stay at this hotel again. Beware of room 304 if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaShandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Ms. LaShandra,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on my property on behalf of your self and your co-worker. I am very pleased that your experience was a pleasant experience and wish you could have enjoyed our social hour while you were here.

I am glad you are sharing your co-workers experience as well so that through this venue I can proudly say that we were very professional in our attempt to calm your co-worker down so we could discuss this and take action. We take every concern very seriously and this was no exception. We not only provide a clean "bug free" hotel but also take extra precautions by spending additional funds to make sure every mattress and every box spring has a bed bug protector on it in every room and in addition can proudly say that all our bedding is cleaned daily, when guests do not have the "do not disturb" sign on the door, as well as remove and replace all bedding including blankets after each guests departs ensuring that all bedding is clean for the next arrival. We clean and inspect our rooms daily and have a professional service performing monthly services as well as on contract for requests such as this.

This room was inspected (headboard, sheets, mattresses and entire box). When a room is inspected by a professional (in which this room was) it is torn completely apart, piece by piece and I am very happy to report that a copy of the "bug free inspection report"dated June 11, 2014 for this room (304) is available for anyone that would like to see it upon request. I personally went to this room prior to your co-worker arriving at lunch time to check out and there was no visible sign of anything other than a few wrinkles in the sheets so I am not sure where these pictures you speak of were taken at but they certainly were not from my hotel.

I can say that all of our staff here were nothing less than professional in our demeanor and willingness to resolve this issue with your co-worker in a professional manner however, policy’s must be followed and unfortunately your co-worker elected not to cooperate with the inspection.

We strive to be the best we can be and will continue to be the hotel guests keep coming back to time and again because we do provide clean, comfortable rooms and a full staff of outgoing, caring and compassionate employees.

Should you be in the Portland, Texas area again we would love for you to stay with us again!

Regards,

Laura Madden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went to Corpus to see a life bird - the Yellow-green Vireo, and this hotel was slightly cheaper than the one on Navigation in Corpus which is also fine. We wanted to stay close to Sunset Beach so that we could walk there at sunset. Very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank birdwatcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. Your comments are truly appreciated.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed our property and we look forward to you coming back to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our best hotel experience in years, great Hotel, great location, great customer service. We were very please with everything. Very Clean, Staff very friendly and helpful. xoxoxoxxoxoxxoxoxxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

This was our best hotel experience in years, great Hotel, great location, great customer service. We were very please with everything. Very Clean, Staff very friendly and helpful. xoxoxoxxoxoxxoxoxxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

Wow!! We are so pleased that you have had a great experience at our property. It is guests such as yourself that make our job rewarding and keep us coming back day after day. We love hearing all experiences so that we can learn and continue to improve and feedback like yours is truly motivation for our team!

Please stop in again to see us the next time you are in the area! We would love to help provide another great vacation for you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Was in town for a family wedding. This stay was great! Bed was comfortable. The room was clean. It was quiet. I had no complaints at all. Wasn't really in the room much but it had everything I needed. Very convenient to small towns in the area and right on the way to Corpus Christi. Walmart, IHOP, and Chili's are right across the freeway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Hampton Inn - Portland. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our beds and was able to have a quite and relaxing stay with us. Our staff works hard to make sure each stay is enjoyable and they will be delighted to hear that they are succeeding. We hope that you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland Corpus Christi
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Northshore Inn
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi - Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Portland
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Corpus Christi Portland
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corpus Christi-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Address: 1705 Highway 181 North, Portland, TX 78374 (Formerly Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £120 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 12 miles from Corpus Christi on Highway 181, the Country Inn& Suites Portland offers easy access to numerous outdoor activities as well as restaurants that are within walking distance. The two bays surrounding our hotel provide excellent fishing, boating, sailing, swimming, water skiing, and birding. In Corpus Christi, visit the Texas State Aquarium, the USS Lexington Museum and the Corpus Christi Museum of Science and History. Start each day of your visit with a free hot breakfast and relax in a comfortable room after a day of sightseeing or bird watching. Make sure to take advantage of the free high speed internet access during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi/Portland Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland
Portland Hampton Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Portland, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing