We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Great, Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Tanglewood is great. The service in all areas is exceptional. Yes Tanglewood is old but it has a unique and relaxing feeling to it. The F&B manager (Lisa I think) was wonderful and kind. Some of the rooms were outdated but they are slowly updating them. People who say this is not close to or on the lake are lying. It is about 1/4 milewalk to marina. The pizza in Barnacles is a must!

Room Tip: Get Concierge Level Hotel Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

we planned for a romantic getaway at tanglewood resort and arrived on friday evening about 8pm. we were told the dining room was booked and so went to the bar/grill to eat a sandwich and get a drink. we waited 20 minutes at a table(only 8 tables total and 4 waiters) and were never even waited on. left and went into denison to eat instead. breakfast the next 2 mornings proved as frustrating when we ate at the breakfast buffet and got cereal but no milk. by the time the waitress arrived to our table the oatmeal was cold. she told us we have to ask for milk for our cereal. the next morning we seated ourselves(no staff in sight)and went thru the buffet , we had eaten half our food before anyone even came to our table.the waiter asked me if i was a mom and wished me happy mothers day, then proceeded to walk away. i asked if we could get a glass of water. he said yes and brought back 1 glass of water for us to share. so sad, but also almost funny that the service is so incredibly bad. we spoke to some other guests out for a walk and they had the same type experience. rooms are just ok. we had ants in our room on the 5th floor and reported it. they wanted to come spray then(knew about the ants in other rooms they said) but i am allergic to many chemicals so we declined and they left us in the same room. too bad the hotel is so poorly run because the view is wonderful.
food was terrible-no flavor and overpriced for poor quality

Room Tip: rooms are all mediocre but the rooms with a view of lake are a little better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizziearm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Someone once told me disappointment is the difference in expectation and reality. I expected a resort atmosphere, views and amentities at Tanglewood but got little or none of that. I attended a business conference at the site. The hotel, expecially the rooms, were 1980's in style. They were clean and big but not as nice as most motels.

The conference room had noisy HVAC, water was not replentished at lunch or breaks and the seats were uncomfortable. The food, all served via buffet style, were pretty good. Many of our conference attendees bolted out of Tanglewood late afternoon to go to the Choctow Casino across the border in Oklahoma.

If your desire is a isolated place to sequester business people, Tanglewood would work. If your desire is a resort that provides lots of fun activities, food & drink or views, you will be disappointed here.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room. I heard my neighbors above me several times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomtex451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The entire complex is nice and beautiful. Swimming pools are clean and food is priced well. Many activities around Lake Texoma to explore. Check out Chef Scott's signature dishes...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roadwarriorxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel really close to the marina which was important for us. The rooms we had on this trip were totally in need of updating, especially for the cost. On the upside the dining room served great food and the waiters were very friendly. There is a playground for children and pool....but if you are go expecting it to be more on a lower level as for as upkeep.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaniC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We just came back from a visit to Tanglewood Resort. Unfortunately, it was not what I was hoping for. Strategic photography seems to help on their website, as the up close and real picture of the place is that of needing a face lift. This place must have been nice in the 70's when it was built but they have done nothing to keep it modern. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but my son got sick and we have to leave early. I was actually relieved.

It's hard to tell from their website but the property sits amist some timeshare apartments and villas, overlooking a marina. There is no direct lake access for kids to play. They do have a nice playground for kids. The pools are much nicer looking than in the pictures. The pools needed to be redone as there was cracking, rust stains and an overall dirty apparance. The decking was nice outside but didn't over look the lake or have any views.

We stayed in a standard room with 2 queen beds. While our room was one "with a view", the lake is a bit in the distance, and the small window didn't lend for much to see. The room was musty and old. They had newly painted it to try and help things, but it just looked like an old room with new paint. The carpets were very old. The beds were ok. It reminded me more of a motel room than the standards you would expect of a Spa resort, especially with the motel style individual air conditioning unity under the window. The bathroom was old, the tub was dingy, and the towels were paper thin and crunchy. The water smelled terribly of chlorine, so I'd recommend bringing bottled water to drink.

The thing this hotel did have going for it was it's breakfast. It was a very nice, full buffet offering fruits, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, full assortment of pastries and breads, eggs, hashbrowns, pancakes and french toast. Very well done and good tasting.

Overall I'd give this place a thumbs down if you are looking for the standards of a true 4 star resort. I'd give it a 2.5.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on one of the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BFamilyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just got back from a weekend at the Tanglewood Resort Hotel and Conference Center. The hotel is lovely, the staff helpful, friendly and polite, and the pool is beautiful. Our room was spotless as was the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and I didn't have any problems sleeping. It was very quiet. My husband played golf and enjoyed the course. The fishing was tremendous! Some huge catfish were being caught. 80 lbs!!! We had dinner at Barnacles in the hotel. The food was good, but the service was a bit slow. We had only one complaint, which was a small one. The rack in the closet was broken, but we could still hang the clothes. The bathroom had a dryer and coffee pot. Our remote batteries were dead the first night and I left a note to the maid. The remote was working when we returned. The staff was very accommodating. I almost forgot! There is a tower bar with live music. The bartender was wonderful as was the musician. We watched the sunset over the lake from the tower and it was breathtaking!!! All in all, a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsboro
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Denison
25.0 mi away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
72 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Texoma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denison North-Lake Texoma
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
21.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Address: 290 Tanglewood Cir, Pottsboro, TX 75076-4869
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Pottsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Price Range: £88 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Lake Texoma, Tanglewood Resort offers accommodations, a wide variety of exciting activities, excellent meeting facilities and an experienced, qualified staff sure to make your stay memorable. From excellent dishes from our Commodore Dining Room to a casual pool-side experience at Skooners Vacation Bar & Grill, Tanglewood Resort offers a wide range of resort amenities: Relax at one of our 3 pools or hot tub. Enjoy volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, or a tennis or pickleball match at one of our tennis courts, or sit back and relax.Located just north of Dallas/Ft. Worth and a short drive from Oklahoma, Tanglewood Resort provides the perfect setting for both personal relaxation and business retreats. The Tanglewood Hotel features 120 spacious and beautifully appointed guest rooms. Looking for accommodations that are more spacious for the family and family pet? Our 126 beautiful villa rooms will not disappoint with options from 350-1400 sq feet of space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Hotel Pottsboro
Tanglewood Hotel Pottsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing