We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was nice and clean. I used the fitness center a couple of times, there were fairly good hotel level workout machines and free weights.

It appeared as if only 1 of the 2 elevators was operational at the time, so since I was only 1 floor up, most of the time took the stairs up and down as it was faster.

Food was great, service in restaurants onsite tended to be a little slow.

I hope to get an opportunity someday to come back and visit in the Summer and try out the golf.

Overall I would stay here again if the opportunity presented itself.

Room Tip: If available, you might ask for lake side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PolarBearTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica W, Public Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words and great review. We very much appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    77
    53
    56
    38
See reviews for
130
119
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have had the opportunity to stay at Tanglewood on several occassions. I have done the romantic getaway (once in the winter and once in the summer) both times it was so relaxing and the spa was amazing. I have also done the New Year's Eve event twice ( so much fun) and for the first time I just did the Valentines package. The food is always amazing but the chef really outdid himself with the plated dinner for Valentines Day. It was a 5 course meal ( with several entrees, salads, appetizers, deserts, and champaine to choose from) that was fit for a king. I have stayed here with children and usually do this in the Villa as it has a full kitchen and space, but for just two people the tower is the way to go. You have your own room on your own floor with an old fashioned claw foot tub if you want to indulge(if not there is a very nice shower as well) along with a nice sitting area. The resort is overlooking the lake and is just beautiful. I will continue to come to this resort as it is not to far for me to travel and they offer alot of things to do like golfing, horseback riding, boating, fishing and spa.

Room Tip: Tower has wonderful view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGriff7880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to say with us on multiple occasions. We're thankful for the opportunity to serve you, and we look forward to your stay in the future!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wonderful weekend , we love visiting Tanglewood..such a gem close to home and yet such a relaxing getaway . The staff is the friendliest anywhere and always so accommodating. We enjoyed lunch at The Island Bar and Grill..just around the bend from hotel. We had a wonderful massage at Tranquility spa and watched basketball games with a cocktail in Barnacles. The special Valentines Dinner was amazing and Adam does make an awesome Cosmopolitan!..thank you for yet another show of Texas hospitality..see you soon.

Room Tip: If you need something..just ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tnwjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Tanglewood Resort as the destination for your special day! We appreciate the wonderful feedback and we are glad that you had a pleasant stay. Please come visit us a again soon to get another dose of our Texas hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We enjoyed New Years celebration and had dinner which was fabulous with lots of choices. The breakfast buffet the next morning was equally great. Our room was recently remodeled and was wonderful. The highlight of the experience was definitely the hospitality and warmth of the staff. We will be back for sure!
Terry and Susan

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Terry,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you are able to come back and visit soon.

Thank you an we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed at Tanglewood resort for New Year's Eve. The New Year's eve dinner buffet was outstanding with Prime Rib, salmon, chicken dishes, all the extras, sides and great desert, specially the bread pudding. Our room was clean and overlooked lake Texoma. All the staff were very friendly and eager to assist anyway they could. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: 5th floor recently remodeled and very nice, get a room overlooking the lake and island's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Tammie,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you are able to come visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Tanglewood is one of the worst resorts. The rooms are small and plain half the time the heater wouldn't work in the room. There was no hot water in the shower and the cable was out. The food was a joke no where close to 5 star worthy. I have had better cafeteria food than Tanglewood.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manbearpig09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We take our reviews very seriously and appreciate your feedback.

It seems that your experience in our hotel room was not as accommodating as our villas may have been for you. Aside from our hotel rooms we also have Tower Suites, Master Villas (1100 sq ft), and 2 bedroom Villas (1500 sq ft). These are much more spacious and hold much more to be discovered in these larger rooms.

We have maintenance on property and they are always available to take care of any issues that may arise during your stay. At anytime you may call the front desk to notify of the problems you are experiencing and we will send maintenance right up to your room to take care of you.

I am sorry to hear that you were not a fan of the meal you had while on property. Will you give me some more feedback on your dining experience with us? Which restaurant you were dining in and which entree you had?

We hope that in the future you will give us another chance and allow us to satisfy all of your getaway needs.

Feel free to email or call me at any time to discuss your stay in further detail mwolf@tanglewoodresort.com or 903-462-7809.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the villa and the jacuzzi tub is a MUST!!! The rooms are great, basically it's a one bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchen. Everything you could need with plenty of space! The rooms have been upgraded with flat screens and have gorgeous modern furnishings and decor. Our room was spotless, even faux plants and under cabinets! We ate at Barnacles for lunch and went back for supper because it was so good! My husband said it was the "best burger ever!" It was very reasonable in price and tasted homemade and fresh! We got drinks at the Yacht Club and took them up to the observation tower which is amazing!!! Go during the day too to get best views though! It's 8 stories up and has breathtaking views! We had breakfast in the dining room and the buffet was wonderful...great selection, fresh, well stocked and tasted great. The two waitresses Sunday morning were so warm and friendly and had smiles on the whole time! Monica arranged and booked our trip as well as checked us in and she was so great!!!! She went above and beyond to make our trip fabulous and answer all our questions! We had not one complaint and it surpassed our expectations! Can't wait to go back...Valentines maybe??? :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Leslie,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We really hope that your are able to join us again for Valentines Day!

Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsboro
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Denison
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Texoma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denison North-Lake Texoma
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sand Bass Inn & Suites
10.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Denison/Sherman/At Texoma Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Property: Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
Address: 290 Tanglewood Cir, Pottsboro, TX 75076-4869
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Pottsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil Texas setting of Tanglewood Resort. Situated on Lake Texoma, Tanglewood Resort offers the finest accommodations, a wide variety of exciting activities, excellent meeting facilities and an experienced, qualified staff sure to make your stay memorable. From excellent dishes from our Commodore Dining Room to a casual pool-side experience at Skooners Vacation Bar & Grill, Tanglewood Resort offers a wide range of resort amenities: Relax at one of our 3 pools or hot tub. Enjoy volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, or a tennis or pickleball match at one of our tennis courts, or sit back and relax.Located just north of Dallas/Ft. Worth and a short drive from Oklahoma, Tanglewood Resort provides the perfect setting for both personal relaxation and business retreats. The Tanglewood Hotel features 120 spacious and beautifully appointed guest rooms. Looking for accommodations that are more spacious for the family and family pet? Our 126 beautiful villa rooms will not disappoint with options from 350-1400 sq feet of space. In addition, the hotel is home to the reception and registration area, state-of-the-art meeting space, poolside lounge, gift shop, pool hall, and Nautilus Fitness Center. Built to overlook the Conference Center, many of the rooms feature breathtaking views of Lake Texoma. The two buildings are adjoined by an enclosed 30-foot skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Hotel Pottsboro
Tanglewood Hotel Pottsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing