We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better, could be worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Richardson
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Could be better, could be worse”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

What do you expect for $54....

Plusses: It was inexpensive and near the freeway. Bed was clean. Had a refrigerator in the room.
Minuses: Ice machine didn't work (at least the two times I tried it). Juice machine didn't work. Stairs were narrow. Shower door wouldn't close. Hole in the wall near vanity(about the size of a coathook, which was probably hung there). Breakfast was cereal, danish and toast and they were almost out of milk (there may have been more in the back).

If you're passing through or on a business trip it's okay. I wouldn't take a family there.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room and bring your own ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerTheChipGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    7
    6
    19
See reviews for
9
2
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Let me begin with stating due to current circumstances, I was left with no choice but to lodge at this hotel. This is my 5th week here in this Awful place.

The daytime staff is very nice and chipper...to say the least. However, the night shift employees are exteamly uncouth! Two employees seem to alternate during the week. One, sleeps the whole time. If you need your key card reprogramed, its like waking a beast. His eyes are always bloodshot like he smoked an ounce of marijuana before work.

The second employee lacks manners and is a far cry from polite. If you do decide to stay here, do try to refrain from any and all complaints as you will end up with a finger in your face whilst being barked at. Dont even try and explain yourself to this one...he obviously is uneducated and probably wont understand what you are saying anyway. It will only result in you being insulted and laughed at. After him not understanding me I obviously told him he didnt n began reiterating myself only to be cursed and yelled at. I can go on for ages about how insulting he is, but im sure you get the point..total lack of respect..

The rooms...
So when you first walk in the room doesnt aplear to be all that bad....until..
*you close the door and find a gaping hole in the wall
*when you flush the toilet water floods the bathroom
*The ac works sometimes..however im not sure if id want mold, mildew and whatever else circulating through the room.
*you go to take a shower and find the shower head covered in mold and mildew.
*blood stains, burnholes and tears in the linen
*only half the lighting works
*slow slow slow internet
*dust EVERYWHERE
*outlets that shock you when you ATTEMPT to plug something in...yes, attempt...the devices never remain plugged in and fall out of the socket.
*The power goes out frequently


Now for the rest...yes..more!
Unless you are a heavy sleeper, youll never sleep. Doors are being slammed NON STOP! There are always parties in the parking lot. The glass was smashed out of the side door. You hear couples arguing loudly all night.

To sum it up...you would have to be ABSOLUTELY PSYCHOTIC to stay here. If you are like me and have a pet (I have a 3lb chi) and are left with no other option but to stay here, PLEASE do NOT bring your children.

I will try to post pics along with my review.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

conventionality located just feet from a busy highway and on the other side is a train that runs all night! no sleep!

don't get a room near the lobby on the first floor or you will have the pleasure of hearing patrons fight over the last 3 day old bagel at the continental breakfast from 6am - 10am

keys never work, i know this can be a problem at many places but here i had to get my key redone 12 times on a 2 day stay.

when you walk in the front door it smells like a smoking facility, sheets had cigarette burns throughout.
turned on the AC and cigarette ashes blew out in a non smoking room
i was able to change rooms
then they gave us a room that was still being cleaned but that was just an honest mistake.


good things: staff was nice because they knew the place sucks and they seem used to dealing with problems , room was cheap,

if you do stay here... dont!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have been going to Dallas for three years and always stay there because they take care of us very good all the time. They have nice clean room. Very good location and good price. Will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrUniqueBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This hotel is rather old and run down but the room was clean, the staff was very nice and helpful, and the price is right. Breakfast if very limited, though. If you need a nice, inexpensive hotel in the Dallas area for a night or two this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coquiOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Unbelievable. Looks nice enough BUT the maids evidently do not change the sheets or wash the comforters.

Nothing personal but I prefer to be scarpotic mange free and not be eaten alive by bedbugs.

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MITEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Got my key's one did not work, I went into my room TV not working,tried to get help,no help,I got it to work. Left went out,came back raining two keys ,do not work! now soaking wet all three of us,no help from man at counter,watching, had to go to front door,go up stairs,keys now do not work on room door! Get in want hot food micowave broke. NO reading lamp,went to bed. Go down for food,milk is out dated, donuts are old, coffee is BAD!!!
Next day same milk,same old donuts!Still in the same box!
Grand child is now catching a cold thank you .
Vicki

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memawvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richardson hotels
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richardson/Dallas
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dallas - Richardson
0.7 mi away
HYATT house Dallas/Richardson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dallas/Richardson
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Dallas Richardson at Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 2458 N Central Expy, Richardson, TX 75080-2713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Richardson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Richardson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richardson Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Richardson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing