We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Upper Scale Indian Restaurant”

Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #72 of 408 Restaurants in Richardson
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An Upper Scale Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Mumtaz challenges the boring atmospheres of most Indian restaurants. And they serve very good food, too. With a beautiful mural of the Taj Mahal. and warm wainscoting in warm wood colors, I felt that the management really cared about my comfort. The wait staff was friendly and attentive but not hovering. We went because their menu includes goat dished. The soups and main courses were delicious and well presented.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussianRiverWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian Food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Tasty Indian food at a great value. Came here for dinner and was pleasantly surprised at both the prices and tastiness of the food. They even allow you to BYOB!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigZee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve - time for some good Indian food”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

When you're a newly reminted bachelor and working 1,500 miles from home the holidays can be rough. But, when you've got two friends also in the metroplex from California who are also suffering the holiday blues you've got the makings of a nice silver lining.

Gathered my friends up and went looking for an open restaurant at 8pm on Christmas Eve, not the easiest thing to do in Dallas if you don't want fast food. After, much driving around and trying to get my friends to commit to a restaurant ended up at the Richardson Fox & Hound -- figured how could you mess up a burger and let's down a holiday beer. But, two minutes before we walked in the door the kitchen had closed. So we wandered across the parking lot to Mumtaz.

When we arrived there was a party of about 25 Indian people gathered up (the owner's friends and family) and we were seated on the other side of the room. The place is well lit, and clean and my friends quickly settled in while occasionally watching some good looking women dancing in a Bollywood production on a TV.

I ordered the Vindaloo (spicy, just the way I requested it), one friend ordered goat curry (milder) and the third friend stuck with a Chai tea. Flatbread was fresh and nicely made. And the two entrees were, both, very good. Total bill for two entrees, bread, and two drinks was $34. Which is perfectly reasonable. Though, if you're looking for a bargain I understand they run cut rate buffets on Mondays or Tuesdays.

After one meal, it's hard to give a definite "yes" or "no" on a place, but they made a fine first impression and I expect to go back to see if they are consistently delicious. Based on last night, I recommend them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Monday Lunch Buffets”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Best value monday lunch buffets. Amazing food, amazing price! Keep up the good food! Recommended any number of times!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shsmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardson
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Such a nice place to eat......”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

You get a lot for very little money. They have an awesome Monday night buffet for $6:99. They have noon and Sunday night buffets also. Last night they had Chicken masala, tendoori, beef ven da loo [excuse my spelling], some meatballs, and vegetable spaghetti - which was new and very different. Fried potatoes and puffy delicious nan are great here, too. They will be opening a new retaurant at Parker and 75 in Plano in the near future. My grandkids ask to go here - one of our favorite family restaurants. The owners are super nice.....they greet you and check on you and make certain that you have everything you need.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing