We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Max

Cafe Max
Ranked #17 of 405 Restaurants in Richardson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Ordered a soup and sandwich there for good price.
soup was excellent, sandwich could have been better but was still OK.
It is not fancy at all but will get you what you need.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoubof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,372 reviews
1,727 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 973 helpful votes
“Nice Salad, Sandwich & Soup Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Café Max is located in an office –industrial section of Richardson. Upon entering you will find a cafeteria type line where you will be served your order. The items available include eight salads, a couple of soups and sandwiches. The service is quick. After going through the line you pay for your meal and drink and you will be offered a cup cake or roll complimentary. I ordered the small Caesar salad as did my spouse and the salad was very large. If I had purchased the large salad it would have covered the entire plate. There are 7 more salads from which to choose and you can even get a sampler that includes a tasting of all eight salads.

Soup and salads plus, quiche are available. The cost of soup and salad is $6.75 and the price for a quiche plate is $8.50. One half salad was $3.75.Sandwiches include Chicken & Provolone, Roast Beef & Cheddar, Ham & Swiss, Turkey & Cheddar and Italian Hoagie.There is also a fresh fruit plate.

There is seating both inside and out. The inside of the restaurant is bright and clean. On a good weather day you might want to consider the outside seating. There are soft drinks available plus lemonade and two different teas. The green tea was excellent. You don’t have to clean your table as there is a bus boy that will come around to do that.

This is a very nice clean restaurant. There is an open ceiling which does contribute to a little higher noise level, however it is not unbearable. They take credit cards. Located on a corner with the parking lot in the front and side will provide ample parking. Restrooms were clean. Only open M-F 11AM to 3PM. You can locate them on the internet at www.cafemax.com

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reliable and good salads/muffins for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Cafe Max in Richardson runs on the concept of lunch Mon-Sat from 11 to 3. It's consistent and delicious. I always get the salad duo (Caesar and pasta) or trio (add fruit salad) and occasionally add a sandwich or the quiche. You get a date nut muffin with your meal. Portions are large enough that I always end up taking half of it home or sharing it with someone. Their salads and muffins are fresh. I've only tried one kind of quiche, and I liked it, but couldn't possibly eat that AND the salad duo. I hear that they have spiced iced tea. I generally get it for carry-out and eat in a nearby park, but lots of people eat in. The software here asked me if this was one of the best meals I had ever had in a restaurant, and I couldn't go THAT far because I've been to the French Room, La Vielle Varsovie, the Blue Mesa Grill of old, and several other places around the country. But this is a great, reliable lunch option that's light when the weather is hot and heavy! And reasonably priced--I generally get out of there at around $12, $7-9 for the salad plate and add in drink and tax. Recommended! It's right there at Collins and Greenville (exit US 75 at Collins Road and go east right into their parking lot, not quite a block.)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shalanna_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
200 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Salads ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I've yet to see a place that runs so great on such a simple concept. The menus are simple the sandwiches are great and the soups are even better. Real men still don't eat quiche though.

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This place is a special treat for us. Live their Caesar and their chicken salad the best, but it's all amazing. My only complaint is that they're not open longer.

Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Max also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing