We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amigos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amigos
Ranked #173 of 405 Restaurants in Richardson
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dallas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Met a friend here for lunch on their recommendation. Sat at the bar and ordered from the menu. Bartender was very helpful and johnny on the spot with everything. My choice was verde enchilada plate. 2 enchilada's with rice and beans.Only $6.00 - EXCELLENT choice. Enchiladas were just right and the verde sauce not to hot. Rice has some corn and beans in it and the refried beans were house made for sure. Friend had 1 chicken taco and 1/2 order of queso. This isn't on the menu, but they were happy to make it that way. The chips and salsa arrived quickly and were just prepared, nice and hot and the salsa was great. The queso is not the usual yellow cheese variety but traditional white cheese Mexican style. Frozen margarita $3 and on the rocks $4 another nice surprise. Amigo's is a fine place to eat and I will be going again soon. You should try it too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
1 review
“Great Mexican Dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We love the enchiladas. Great salsa. Bartender is excellent. Wait staff is also very friendly. Quick service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to a brunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The reviews on TripAdvisor helped us decide to try Amigos -- and the queso. The queso had great flavor but was a bit runny. The complimentary tostaditos were nice. I had one of the frittatas, and my husband had something with eggs and chorizo. Portions were large and had good flavor. The service was terrific and friendly. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Tex Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The food here is delicious, but I think the Margarita happy hour attracts most folks. Good queso, fresh chips, and a good variety of menu items.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardson
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really good place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been going since it opened. It has the bet queso in the town....it is white, creamy and delicious. They also have a cute little tostada that they give you as an appetizer....it is very tasy. If you are looking for common TEX MEX combos...you won't find it. They do have enchiladas and tamales....but you will want to try some of the other fare. The shrimp diablo is almot too spicy but delicious. I love the gorditas and the Pollo caldo. I understand that they have great drinks and a wonderful Happy Hour. The waiters are so caring. We have had 14 people and there is never a single problem....even with 5 kids! It is worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amigos also viewed

 

Been to Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing