We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Richardson
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Not a great Holiday Inn - certainly not up to standards. This hotel is in need of an update. The workout room was dated, the treadmill had to be from the 80s, if not older. The hotel had my reservation, but they assigned the wrong IHG Rewards number to my account. Clearly a lack of attention to detail. Hotel needs to be refreshed. My room door's chain lock was broken.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and give us the feedback. I am extremely Sorry for your bad experience at the hotel. We recently took over this hotel and working with major designing firm to have this hotel renovated in near future. please let us know When coming back to the richardson area so we can have a newer room assign to your reservations for your future needs.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    41
    17
    15
See reviews for
39
11
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I didnt have Ritz Carlton expectations coming in but knew this hotel would suffice. The location is convenient to where I was working and also is not far from Collins, where you can find a decent amount of places to eat while away on business. I definitely feel the breakfast was the strong point of the stay as the gym was average (low in cardio machines) and rooms were comfortable but non working lights switches and a bit of dirtyness made it become average. Would recommend for a quick stay that only requires a place to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjhope9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your great feedback . We strive very hard here on customer service. I do apologize for the size and condition of the room, We make sure to do as many improvements as possible to create a great stay. Please give us a call when making your next reservation.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I could give a 3.5 score, but not a 4. The room was quiet and comfortable, with clean bathroom and bedding. There's a reasonably well equipped gym. The hotel seemed to have lost their liquor licence, though they managed to rustle up some food and apologetically offered complimentary wine - so it would be churlish to complain. The breakfast selection was poor, however - more like a HI Express offering.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear aquaactionimage,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It was very rewarding to hear that you like our comfortable room accommodations. I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I apologize for any inconvenience the food selections and service may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate department. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel felt more like home. Wonderful associates and very clean rooms. I had an unfortunate situation of breaking my cell phone and anytime I needed a phone to reach family or work Amjad, the General Manager allowed me use of his office phone and even offered his personal cell. With the stress of this situation he eased my worries. Also Danny was the best. Always making sure I was taken care of from the time I checked in to the time I went home. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Greetings JSW17,

Thank you so much for your generous words of praise for a job well done. Your review of our management, staff and hotel is very appreciated and we were honored to have you as our guest. We will share your words with all of our employees and it will empower us even more to be the absolute best hospitality service providers! Please contact us when you plan a return visit to the Holiday Inn - Richardson and we will roll out the red carpet for you!

Kindest regards,

Amjad Asaad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I made reservations for 6 couples in the middle of September for OU/TX weekend. We have stayed at this hotel for 10 years...always pleased, recommending it to everyone. Upon arrival, we found that the king size rooms I had reserved were changed to double. We have two men well over 6 feet tall, and a double (not queen) was not acceptable. I had the e-mail where the sales manager asked me if we were requesting king beds, and I responded "yes ma'am". They informed me that this could not be changed because no king beds were available, and the sales manager was not there. I left her a note, but wasn't aware that she wouldn't be back until Monday!! NOTHING was done to make this right. We had breakfast for 2 people on both days. If anything, I think that should have been comped for us. I'm waiting for a response from the sales manager, but so far...NOTHING. I just can't believe there wasn't ONE person in the office who could make this right for us. Frustrating at $121 per night!! We will not be going back to this hotel...nor will we be recommending it in the future. On the plus side, the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cym20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Cym20,

Thank you for your review and for letting us know where we may have fell short in regards to your room needs. We always do our best to accomodate any room prefrences that you may have and might have been more limited on some room types because of the TX/OU weekend. Please anticipate a call from someone in our sales department to follow up on your review. The staff and management at the Holiday Inn Richardson wish to see you again and continue to have you as our guest during your time in the Dallas area.

Best regards,

Amjad Asaad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The outside of the hotel looked nice, the lobby was nice. Things changed once we got into the elevator and on our floor. The hallway decor was old. The actual room is ugly. The furniture is run down, very disapointing for what the room costs regularly. The bed and bedding were good . Comfortable and clean, not the ugly bedspreads some hotels have. We got a half priced deal , and the first thing my hubby said was " I'm glad we didn't pay full price, we would've gotten a refund and stayed somewhere else." My absolute biggest complaint is the odd sink outside of the bathroom. It's a joke. There is no lighting so forget doing your makeup. It's ridiculously small too. I keep looking for another lightswitch because it was so absurd. The coffe pot was a one cup that didn't work. No coffee was available in the lobby that we could see. My husband had to go to McDonald's for coffee. What hotel doesn't provide coffee in the morning? This one! Overall this hotel was a disappointment. I would not stay here again. Go somewhere that has free breakfast and coffee. The lobby and outside fool you.

Room Tip: It's just a room to sleep in. Amenities are not good. Room was ugly. Just pick another hotel. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursejennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear nursejennings,

Thank you for your time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We sincerely wish to extend an apoligy to you that your expirence with us was not as favorable as it should have been. The management and staff at the Holiday Inn - Richardson pride ourselves on providing the very best in service and satisfaction and hope to have the opportunity to be your host again and prove ourselves as the proud service professionals we strive to be. Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention and be assured that we will address the issues that your expirenced.

Best regards,

Amjad Asaad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We named our own price and got the room for $44 and its a pretty clean building. They have a pool inside and outside but we did not use them. The gym is nicer than other cheaper hotels I've stayed at. When we first checked in, we had a room with two twins, but the lady at the desk said she would switch us to a king room, which was nice since it was my boyfriend and I that were staying in a room together. She was very nice and happily switched us. The only thing I didn't really like is the be is not as comfortable as it looks and on the king bed you get 4 tiny pillows instead of king size. So it's hard to sleep on a tiny pillow when you are rolling in your sleep unless you line up all the pillows in a row. It was nice having free Internet. We did eat at this hotel but we drove to House Cafe which is only 6 minutes away and ate breakfast. They give you big portions for the price.

All in all this is a good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengy465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to respond and give us your feedback regarding your recent stay to the Holiday Inn-Richardson. We are very glad that your expirence was a pleasurable one and hope that you will use us as your preferred hotel whenever in the Richardson/Dallas area. It is our goal to always surpass your expectations when staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richardson hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richardson/Dallas
0.7 mi away
HYATT house Dallas/Richardson
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Dallas Richardson at Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dallas - Richardson
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson

Property: Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson
Address: 1655 N. Central Expressway, Richardson, TX 75080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Richardson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Richardson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Select Dallas/Richardson Hotel, a Quality Excellence Award Winner for 7 consecutive years, is a 220 room, full-service hotel. 100% non-Smoking.Guest room amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access, both wired and wireless; 84 TV channels with HBO; free local and toll calls; and our new shower amenities. What's new? adjustable shower-head and rounded shower curtain/rod. Our executive level rooms now have an in-room safe and brand new pillow-top Posturepedic mattresses, refrigerator, robe and turn-down service. The 24-hour business center: computer, copying, and printing.Hotel amenities: restaurant/lounge with happy hour M-F, 4-7 PM, with reduced prices and free hors d'oeuvres, fitness center w/Nautilus equipment, indoor/outdoor pool, and laundry facility.We are located in the heart of the Telecom Corridor, on N Central Expwy (Hwy 75) and Campbell Rd. From 635; take 75 N. Exit Campbell Rd-(#26); U-turn and go south on Central Expwy. 1/2 mile S of Campbell. Nearby attractions: downtown Dallas: JFK Memorial, the Arts District (over 160 museums, galleries, and artistic attractions!), Collin Creek Mall 1 mi. north of us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Dallas-Richardson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Dallas - Richardson Hotel Richardson
Holiday Inn Richardson
Richardson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing