We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Peaceful Home-away-from-Home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Great Oaks Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at Great Oaks for the second time this winter and enjoyed it even more! Located out of town, near new subdivisions, the property consists of 2 acres and a huge century-old classic Southern mansion that has been completely renovated by the talented and friendly owners.
.
Staying at Great Oaks truly feels like "going home" in the very best sense: you are welcomed into the enormous, yet totally comfortable house, set up in your spacious room (the place must have 12 foot ceilings) , then left in peace, to wander the grounds, read a book from the well-stocked library, lounge on the upper verandah, soak in the jacuzzi, or just relax on the front porch.

The rooms are so pleasant! Some are huge, and all are beautifully decorated with a subtle but interesting theme, such as the Casablanca Room which was ours, with its touches of Morocco.

We slept incredibly well on the cushy mattress in the quiet country night, and woke up to smells of the owner's delicious scones for late Sunday breakfast. We lazed around all morning, then had to go back to reality ! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CindyLou00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2009

We are local to the area (from Houston/Spring) and were looking for a quick, quiet, and romantic get away. This place was fantastic in every aspect. Carey and Fred's hospitality was very refreshing. They gave us the peace and quiet we needed, yet were available for small talk when we wanted. Their service was fantastic! The food was fantastic (loved the strawberry french toast!)! The room was impeccable and well thought out! The Manor itself was beautiful! We will be back some day! Thanks Carey and Fred!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coleju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Great Oaks Manor was such a wonderful end to a stressful wedding day. Everything from the comfy bed to the relaxing jacuzzi tub and the AMAZING croissant french toast in the morning was excellent. Carey and Fred were very kind and personable -- we enjoyed the conversation as much as the breakfast!

We definitely hope to return as often as we can get away for a peaceful weekend to ourselves!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank txzag07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

it was my husband and i's 25th wedding aniversary and a much needed get a way. we were in the middle of moving and the romantic and quiet surroundings were just what we needed. the rooms are beautiful ,and fun! we will be back to stay in a different room (love the variety).thanks carey and fred for a great aniversary!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

This was our third stay at Great Oaks Bed and Breakfast and we continue to be amazed by the hosts' energy and hospitality! We almost always stay at bed and breakfasts when we travel and Great Oaks Manor is one of the most impressive properties that we have visited, just from sheer size. The renovation of the property is fantastic. The owners are constantly working to improve their guests' stay, whether it's by upgrading bath amenities, adding more to the decor of each room, or continuing to landscape the 2 acres surrounding their very large Southern Colonial mansion. They also work hard to use environmentally friendly practices. Carey and Fred are some of the hardest working innkeepers that we have ever met!

We stayed here to join up with friends and they can steer you to some great places to eat (very affordable) or places to find antique bargains. Or, you can relax in several common areas or large covered porches. Few B&Bs have as much space to relax in outside of the guest rooms. We appreciated this to enjoy our time together.

Very hospitable and caring innkeepers who also give you your space and privacy, make the stay super special. Carey's breakfasts continue to be delicous and the fresh ground and brewed coffee is the best! One of these days, we'll come back just to have a special romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bnbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We booked this B and B on on the internet and let me say this place is nothing like the pictures.. it may outwardly look the same until you look closely .. once in our room which was the TUSCAN SUN .. the chairs in the bed room was so uncomfortable we sat on the bed instead the microwave in the room had to be cleaned and was quite smelly... dead flies stuck to the windows and sills were grubby. on the landing outside our room was a refreshment station with a list of items we were told was for our comsumption ..well there was 1 can of coke 3 shrivelled icecreams that i am sure has been there since the summer of 2007 ( we were 4 in our party) tea and coffee was there with artificial milk . AAAhhh and now for breakfast ... we were served some form of pancake far from the full breakfast as adverstised... we have been travelling for some 25 years and normally very easy to please but this was the "rip off" of our travels

SOUTH AFRICA

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splodgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoustonTexasTwosome, Owner at The Great Oaks Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thank you so much for your review. However, we have no record of any guest from South Africa who stayed with us during the 6 months before or after your review date of January 2009. The room you mentioned does not have a microwave in it, and we don't provide ice cream for our guests. We always have real creamers for coffee. Our breakfasts, as you can tell from our other reviews are quite wonderful, and there is always plenty of food. Do you perhaps have us confused with someone else?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

This was the second time my husband and I have stayed at Great Oaks Manor. Tucked away in a residential neighborhood, once you drive in it is like stepping back in time to my Grandmother's house in Illinois. First class amenities, large high ceilinged rooms, comfy king bed and bath, and a delicious breakfast. I loved sitting in the library listening to the restful music while browsing through their extensive book collection. Our hosts were most gracious and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deedee7Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Great Oaks Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Oaks Manor

Address: 419 Macek Rd, Richmond, TX 77469-8306
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: £89 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway with a jetted tub for two, a fireplace and a full breakfast, or the perfect location to relax when visiting the Richmond, Sugar Land, or Houston area, come to historic Great Oaks Manor. Built by Clement Newton Bassett who fought in the Civil War, this grand home is full of history on two acres of century-old oak trees. "Southern Grace and Charm with Texas-size Hospitality!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing