We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly Haven”
Review of Rainbow Courts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rainbow Courts
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rockdale
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Heavenly Haven”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed at this wonderful place for a relative's wedding. Upon check in was offered the Garden Room. What a blessing! The room is actually a little garden house beautifully decorated and loads of extras-great sound system, a kitchen complete with an old fashion "ice box" refrigerator to complete the country motif and a sitting area just out the back door. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable. This room is in the center of the hotel near the large shade trees making it convenient to gather in the Adirondack chairs. We plan on staying at this terrific find when we travel to Austin--a little driving distance but much better than the hustle and bustle in the city. This hotel makes a great getaway from everything place and truly relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
92
22
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumas, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Rainbow Courts. It was by far the most unpleasant experience that we have had at a hotel-motel. There were cockroaches in the room as well as the carpet being dirty. The air conditioning was not adequate, when I asked about it I was met with "Well it is hot outside". I was brought a filthy fan to aid the air conditioning. The water pressure in the shower was subpar and the shower head just spit. Beware, the pictures that you see online are not representative of the rooms. For the price, it was a real let down.

Room Tip: Try another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Staci L,
Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay with us in June. We were completely taken aback by your comments and regret not having the opportunity to address all of your concerns during your stay. If we had only known! We would have immediately moved you to an upgraded room, at no additional charge, if you had told us you were not happy. You told us that the air conditioner was working fine and requested a fan because you like rooms extra cold. Your wife concurred and said that she loved the room. The room you stayed in is in fact "old". You stayed in the historic School House which was built in 1895 and moved onto the property in the 1940's by my Grandfather. He actually went to school in this Schoolhouse and was sentimental about the building which is why he saved it from destruction and why it has been restored by us to meet modern needs.
Unfortunately, the city of Rockdale had a water outage due to a main water line break during your stay. I can only deduct that your shower water pressure and shower head "spitting" was during the outage in the city and even though it was for several hours, it was a temporary problem beyond our control. When we became aware of the outage, we called every room to advise the guests that were available of the problem.
We assure you that we will meet with our team, including our Pest Control Service and address your concerns and resolve any issues. We value you and your wife as we do all of our customers and our hope is that you will return for another stay and give us an opportunity to demonstrate to you that our awards and other reviews were earned by a constant and diligent focus on quality, service and guest satisfaction. Sincerely, Joan Ratliff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Saline, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Rainbow Courts when we came to Rockdale for a family wedding. What a treat this stay was. We stayed in the Carriage House. It was amazing. The décor was beautiful and the linens were wonderful. The bed was so comfortable. We had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Family met in Rockdale and stayed at the Rainbow Courts. The people are so friendly! The rooms were clean, decorated nicely, TV's in bedroom and living room worked great when having family/friends in the room at one time. Well maintained, really quite and relaxing!

Room Tip: Some rooms have full kitchens with small dining tables and living rooms - great for visiting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ml F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My wife stayed at Rainbow well over 50 years ago when her family moved to Rockdale. It hasn't changed in character but has been modernized.

We were forced by illness to stay at Rainbow instead of with family. Our room was small but it was clean and bright and the staff, office and housekeeping, were warm and friendly. Rainbow is a bit pricey but we had to take the rack rate with no "deals or offers." $50 extra for our caged pooch was also a steep - especially since it was flea season in Texas and the lush St. Augustine grass lawn was loaded with them. Had to administer Frontline spray twice during a four day visit.

There was an air cleaner in the room. My other half is allergic to everything and that was a much appreciated touch.

You are near the railroad as you will be in all Rockdale lodging. Trains are a sound from my childhood and I find them soothing. If you feel differently, stay somewhere else.

Maybe I sound negative but I would stay there again. The place has character. You don't come away with the "where am I" feeling that you do at the chain hotels. In the end my only complaint is fleas in the grass.

Room Tip: Reserve early for best selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Jim M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Rainbow Courts Motel. We appreciate you and your wife as a customer and love receiving feedback. Fleas are a problem in Central Texas because we do not have a winter cold enough to kill those nasty pests. Spraying the lawn area only helps temporarily until it rains or we water the lawn. Hence the pet fee for treating the room after a pet has been a guest and in our lawn area. We are relatively new at being pet friendly and have asked our pest control company to alert us if any new product becomes available that is more effective. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope it is not another 50 years before you stay with us again. Joan Ratliff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We weren't sure what to expect, booking online from 1000 miles away, but were happily surprised with our accommodations in the old schoolhouse. The full kitchen and spacious room made our week long vacation a joy. We will definitely book next time we are in the area. Thank you.

Room Tip: There is a variety of rooms in separate buildings. Interesting and historic and fun. A pool would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Arrived quite late and received a very warm and friendly welcome from the owner. Our room was exceptionally clean and nicely renovated in keeping with the motel's vintage. The grounds are well manicured and very nicely landscaped. Rainbow Courts is an excellent place to step back in time, relax, and enjoy a bit of nostalgia without sacrificing comfort and cleanliness. It's a definite place for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockdale
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Rockdale Texas
Days Inn Rockdale Texas
#2 of 4 in Rockdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockdale
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 4 in Rockdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron
19.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 3 in Caldwell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Courts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Courts

Property: Rainbow Courts
Address: 915 Cameron Ave., Rockdale, TX 76567
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Rockdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rockdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Courts 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Courts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing