We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a little piece of Heaven when traveling”
Review of Rainbow Courts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rainbow Courts
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rockdale
Certificate of Excellence
South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a little piece of Heaven when traveling”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just a few blocks off the North South Texas Highway # 77, about 60 miles south of Waco, TX, on Hwy # 79. It was recommended by Julie from Fulton Beach Bungalows of Fulton, TX. Pull into their quaint Office driveway and you will find just a little piece of paradise. For being the oldest operating Motel in TX you will be so happy you stopped to spend the night. Fabulous facilities that will beckon you to return on your next visit to the area. We were 110% satisfied and will certainly make it a MUST stop on our return to Texas, from the cold tundra in South Dakota, next year. This was our first year south to enjoy the warmer weather. It very well could become a habit and Rainbow Courts will also become a habit.

Room Tip: All their rooms are to die for. Excellent folks and facilities. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadToad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Rainbow Courts Motel for your lodging in Rockdale, TX. We look forward to your next stay and becoming your lodging"habit". Stay as warm as possible in the cold tundra of S. Dakota and in the meanwhile look forward to warmer climate in Texas. Safe Travels.
Joan Ratliff, Owner, Rainbow Courts Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
91
22
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This is the kind of motel you would see in old black and white movies, with one story rooms in a row, porch chairs outside the doors, huge old trees, a large lawn with wooden lawn chairs. Inside the rooms one finds antique furniture with very nice appointments--good pictures, lovely ceramic lamps-- not the normal motel decorations. But then there was a good mattress, coffee maker, fridge, cable tv, wifi, a fancy folded towel, upgraded bath fixtures, tree hugger shampoo, all the comforts of a large motel. My room was small, but still had a double bed, overstuffed chair, tv, table and desk chair--all for $59. They do have larger rooms and suites. To top it off, the motel is run by very nice people. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kmcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Rainbow Courts Motel. The business has been in my family since 1918 and as the new generation owner, this business provides a history "lesson" every day. We are so fortunate to have wonderful guests such as yourself. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I happened on this treasure and am so glad I did! A historic and interesting "motel" first established in 1918 and kept in the family. All necessary amenities and a special atmosphere. I will return as soon as I can and stay longer next time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CelesteManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Rainbow Courts Motel. We look forward to your next stay and hope you are able to stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were pleasantly in aw of this beautiful, manicured property. The quant courtyard and landscaping is magical. When we entered our single king room we both were taken back. The description was spot on but failed to mention the Memory Form bed...heaven!! High end details down to the linens and soaps. I highly recommend staying at the Rainbow Court and will never stay anywhere else. What a trip back to the old days at staying in motels but with a modern high end touch. Well done!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your complements. We are so fortunate to have the nicest customers. We look forward to your next stay and hope to see you soon. Our beds are heavenly! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife needed to get outside of Dallas for a little while - she was really stressed out from her studies. So I gave this place a try after reading about it online. It turned out to be exactly what we needed. The Garden room, which was where we stayed, was clean, cozy, and charming. The bathroom was spotless, the kitchenette was well equipped, and the bed was super comfortable. On the subject of that bed, we had perhaps the best night sleep we have had together all year! And to top it all off the landscaping outside was very beautiful. I recommend this place to any couple passing through the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jostmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are so happy that you chose Rainbow Courts Motel for your get-a way. We pride ourseleves on having a unique property and appreciate your nice complements. We look forward to your next retreat and hope the studies are going well.
Best Regards,
Joan Ratliff, Owner or Rainbow Courts, Family Owned and Operated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is the oldest motel in Texas but doesn't show it's age! This was a very comfortable, accommodating hotel/motel. Some of our family were in the school house and other cottages and all were beyond expectations! Everything was well kept and very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregJouglard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Rainbow Courts Motel. We look forward to your next stay and appreciate your complements. Safe travels.
Best Regards,
Joan Ratliff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Definitely NOT your typical roadside motel! Charming, quiet accommodations, with all the luxuries of home. They offer both single and attached units at various price ranges. We stayed in The Garden Room - single unit. It had an enormous combined living and sleeping area and separate kitchen and bath areas. The outside patio with table and chairs was a bonus! Our parents, who traveled with us, stayed in The Cottage - another single unit. It had separate living and sleeping areas, along with wet bar and bath areas - and charming back patio! This isn't the Ritz; so why the 5 stars?? In these small towns, sprinkled throughout the great state of Texas, this type of place is an anomaly and we very much appreciated the nice touches throughout our rooms.
Don't be thrown by the 'motel' advertisement - it's much more than that!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmwhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Rainbow Courts Motel. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Garden Room. It is one of my favorite suites. Years ago, when my grandparents owned the business, that space was the original laundry room with wringer washing machines. Linens were hung outside on a clothesline to dry. It is hard to imagine, isn't it? Since we restored the building it has become a favorite of our guests. Liz Carpenter called it "my room". The Cottage, where your parents stayed, actually dates from the 1800's according to A & M architectural students. The students have climbed over and under several of our buildings and dated them by analyzing the construction and materials used. There is so much history here, I could go on and on. We love it when someone appreciates the history and restorations that we have completed. We look forward to your next stay. Safe travels.
Best Regards,
Joan Ratliff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockdale
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Rockdale Texas
Days Inn Rockdale Texas
#2 of 4 in Rockdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockdale
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 4 in Rockdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron
19.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 3 in Caldwell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Courts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Courts

Property: Rainbow Courts
Address: 915 Cameron Ave., Rockdale, TX 76567
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Rockdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rockdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Courts 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Courts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing