We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!”
Review of Village Inn Motel

Village Inn Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Village Inn Motel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This was a last minute booking, we were just looking to have a little weekend getaway. I saw this place on the Rockport website and thought the pics depicted it to be a pretty decent place to stay. I called to see if they had room and should have noticed the red flags going up then. When the person answering the phone doesnt speak english and shouts for someone to "come get phone", that's red flag #1. When the second person who came to the phone doesnt even know if they have a vacancy and has to ask for someone else to check, thats red flag #2. But, silly me, i booked anyway, drove 3 hrs from SA and then the fun REALLY began. The girl at the front had no concept of math nor how to use a calculator, so that was 30 mins of trying to find out how much i was supposed to be charged to which she almost overcharged me $40 until i made her do it again until correct (4 times). Finally after all is said and done, we get to the room... we walk in and our first impression is GAG!!!!! It REEKED of smoke, was dingy and dirty, had roaches everywhere and as the cherry on top, had car fresheners (the ones you hang from the rear view mirror) in all the air vents! Like those were going to do anything! There was no way i should have paid $400 to stay two nights in this dump. My family and i packed up and turned right around to leave. As we were leaving, the owner is at the door and asking how it all was; we told him we just could not stay, it was too gross. He refunded all our money and we found a really great place just down the way and it was even cheaper! All in all, just not a good place whatsoever, so if you can please avoid at all costs! Good luck, happy travels

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pooky1Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    1
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

It is cheap. Everything in the rooms are older (you are not staying at the Hilton), but this is a perfect place right by the beach. Great place to lay your head after a long day in the sun

Room Tip: call ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinMishelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Staff was nice enough but the place was dumpy. An upholstered chair in our room looked as if it had been pulled out of a dumpster. I think you can get more bang for your buck in this price range in Rockport but the better places were all full to capacity. Village Inn was almost empty. These guys seem to take the last-minute vacationers that were not lucky enough to book well in advance elsewhere.

The location was within easy walking distance to the city beach, marina and museums. Nice local donut shop next door for a quick and cheap breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alhazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockport hotels

Rockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2010

This place is horrible. Rooms are dirty. Staff is rude and they lied to us. Infested with termites. Stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

This motel is best suited for the economy-minded traveler with modest expectations -- perhaps college kids or guys on a fishing trip. Amenities include a mini-fridge,microwave, TV, and hair dryer. The room was a reasonable size. The motel is centrally located in Rockport and is in walking distance to the piers, etc.

The outside of the motel is quite run-down and we had second thoughts about checking in. Frommers says that parts of the motel are from the 1930's -- and, uhmm, it looks like it. Our unit had a TV with a wide range of channels, but the window air condition was so noisy that it drowned-out the TV. There was a shower (one of those plastic-lined ones) and no bath. The singe-sink bathroom was very small. The room was somewhat shabby -- by that I mean that the windows were dirty, the blinds were broken, the pictures on the wall were faded, the repair-work seemed home-done, rather than professionally done.

I would rate the quality as somewhat below a Motel 6 or Super 8. Depending on your expectations and budget, you may find this nicely-located motel adequate for your purposes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2007

The Village Inn is the most economical place in Rockport. It is a bit shabby but clean. The room had a kitchenette with fairly new-looking appliances -- fridge, gas stove, microwave, toaster. My husband and I stayed for 8 days and saved a bundle by cooking many meals. We had our bicycles with us (no car), and biked to the H.E.B. supermarket about a mile away for groceries.

The place has WIFI which wasn't working when we arrived. After complaining, they fixed it, and no problems thereafter.

There is a small pool, but we did not use it.

There is a busy road adjacent to the motel, and some people might be bothered by the traffic noise, but we had the air conditioner blasting, so we didn't hear it.

I would recommend this place to all budget travellers. We asked for the senior discount and the weekly rate ($280 plus tax), which is the best deal. Daily rates are higher on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — door lock not very secure
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jloonatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
0.7 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#17 of 20 in Rockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Motel

Property: Village Inn Motel
Address: 503 N Austin St, Rockport, TX 78382-2801
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Village Inn Motel Rockport, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing