We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anthony's by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 6 Rockport B&B and Inns
SAN ANTONIO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you're looking for a fancy place, you'll want to look elsewhere because Anthony's is pretty basic, but it's a pleasant place to stay and is as good or better than most other accomodations in the area. The decor is a bit dated as other reviewers have noted, but the room was clean and very quiet. Each day you'll have 3 breakfast options (that change each day), and the selections we had were excellent, as was the service provided by the owners, Beth and Smitty.

Anthony's is conveniently located in a residential area just a few blocks from the water and is walking distance from the "business" district of Rockport where you'll find various shops, restaurants, and art galleries. A bit further, but still withing walking range, is the Rockport Beach Park as well as the aquarium and a couple of interesting museums.

The only real negative for me was that one of the two full size beds in the room we stayed in (the separate 1 bed/1 bath apartment with kitchen) was kind of lumpy. I certainly wasn't the worst bed I've ever slept in, but it is probably due to be replaced. Overall, considering the qualty of the breakfast and having a full kitchen available in our room for other meals, I thought Anthony provided a very good value for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you want a great relaxing holiday try Anthonys by the sea in Rockport.How many B and Bs do you know where all of the neighbours welcome you as part of the community .Everyone is friendly and willing to make your stay at Anthonys a time to remember.The food is first class and there is always a smile waiting for you breakfast .Rockport is a small piece of heaven in Texas.So if you are down Rockport way why not Anthonys by the sea.We the taylor family traveled from the northeast of the UK and it was well worth it.Regards Mick Taylor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite" as that was what was left for the weekend. Other than the carpet which needs a good shampoo or steam clean, it was tidy and the bathroom was clean enough. Bathroom was adjoined to the bedroom/sitting room.....not sure if the door to it closed. Owners were friendly. We were up and about early each morning, so we never did have breakfast there which is served from 8:30 - 10:30 .....so can't comment on that. Our bed was comfortable enough, although if I slept any other way than on my back I rolled to the center. AC unit was outside of our room and made a loud noise whenever it cycled off. Mostly, however, our room was in DIRE need of an update. It was straight out of the 70's or 80's, with a mauve and blue theme.....mauve walls no less! Pink tile in the bathroom, and the decor is very "different." Wallpaper peeling off the walls. All of that in itself, along with the dirty carpet, made it feel old, outdated, and a little unclean. Don't think we will go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Is this the only Bed and Breakfast Rockport has to offer? The breakfast was horrible. The room we stayed in smelled musty and the mattress needed replacing probably 10 years ago. The owners are nice enough especially when they are drinking and they do so every day. I suspect any renovations that need to be done are neglected because of the owners total disregard of the state of their B&B. The establishment needs detailed cleaning. Overall it was too expensive and not a clean B&B. Unsanitary. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This place is a secret hide away for a nice quiet get away. A calm weekend for a usually busy family looking to get away just to reset for the crazy work week. WARNING, though you may want to make it a little more than a day stay because u wont want to leave that soon. These ladies will spoil you and make you feel like you are family. My girls loved the little get away and it was just a jump hop and a skip away from the very clean beach. You wont regret this stay....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

What a wonderful pair: Smitty and Beth. They have a wonderful B & B, but this week they really outdid themselves! My mom turned 80 and my dad asked Smitty and Beth to come to our condo in Port Aransas each night to cook dinner for the 10 of us. Each of the seven nights was a gourmet feast! The main meal as well as homemade cookies, 2 birthday cakes, brownies, and peach cobbler! So delicious! And they were here on time and had dinner on the table for all of us at 7:00 with smiles on their faces. They even sang Happy Birthday! Thank you, Smitty and Beth

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Needs upgrade. Food excellent, just a bit run down & needs renovation. Bed was hard and pillows were old.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
3.4 mi away
Inn At Fulton Harbor
Inn At Fulton Harbor
#1 of 4 in Fulton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthony's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's by the Sea

Property: Anthony's by the Sea
Address: 732 S Pearl St, Rockport, TX 78382-2420
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anthony's by the Sea is secluded among the Live Oaks in historic South Rockport near Aransas Bay. You will be able to enjoy amenities such as a gazebo, water fountain, swimming pool, covered patio and grill in a beautiful, natural environment. Weekend mornings you will be spoiled with a gourmet breakfast served in the dining area or on the patio. Daily, weekly, and monthly rates are available. Anthony's is located near Rockport Beach, downtown shops and museums and adjacent to the Zachary Taylor Arboretum Park. Rockport is a great place for birding, fishing, kayaking and sailing. Special Memories - No extra charge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anthony's By The Sea Rockport, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing