We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Eat in the bar!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Comales Mexican Restaurant

Los Comales Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 95 Restaurants in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (361) 729-3952, Steak Houses, Seafood Restaurants, Mexican Restaurants
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eat in the bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Sitting in the bar to eat just seems right. Fajitas are tender and perfectly cooked. Margaritas go down well... The green salsa can't be beat. All in all, I'm not sure why I don't come here more often.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crhall66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    77
    25
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“For a fishing town good mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

There service is always consistent and good as is the food and prices. We are regulars there for a reason.

Helpful?
Thank KickBak-n-Yak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rockport local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We have been there several times and never have been disappointed. Wait staff was always attentive. Everyone we have brought there or recommended has always good things to say about this place.

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relax and have a nice dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were told to check out this place. Down here for our 37th Annv. By Saturday we were ready for some Tex Mexican food . No wait for a dinner, Come early, like 5:30- 6:00 pm . Dinner was as good as one we go to in Helotes , Texas. The Margaritas were the best I had in a long time. It did not take long for my husband I to finish, set back and relax. Over all we will be back. Thank you to our friends in San Antonio for tell us about the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Roaches in Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Last went there in fall of 2013. Never again! Sister saw a roach crawling in her salad and my niece's husband found one on his plate of food. These were German adult size roaches. It needs to be closed agressively exterminated and exterminated again in two weeks later and then food surfaces aggressively wiped down for pesticide residue before reopened. If they can be controlled in my house why can't they be controlled in a restaurant? For many years it was an excellent place for Mexican food but no longer unless you want a surprise or two in your meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GigLs2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Comales Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Los Comales Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing