We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Inn Suites
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pier”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I have stayed several times and always enjoyed it. The rooms are decent and clean and the staff friendly. Great location too. I just wish there had been more fish around the last time because we often do well.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    45
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
54
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife and I booked this motel for a wedding we were to attend in Rockport. The reviews looked promising. However, once I arrived for check-in the problems began. After signing for the room I realized the charge was higher than expected. The wife of the owner claimed I requested a room with a kitchen and subsequently charged more. When I explained that information was incorrect she looked at her notes and said I was wrong. I the customer who booked the room was wrong! They had no other rooms and the entire tourist town was booked. I had no choice but to stay. Once in the room I quickly realized the hot and cold water were reversed in the shower by burning myself. I made complaints and was made to feel as though I were the problem. The final day of the stay my room lock malfunctioned. When I brought this to the owner's attention he asked how I broke his lock. Obviously I did not break the lock. However, for the rest of my stay I had to have the front desk open my room every time I needed in. At no time during my stay and multiple complaints did I get an offer for compensation. During the morning of my check-out the father of the owner was reluctant to unlock the office. I couldn't even check-out without frustration. A final word of warning: Do not pay upfront. Your credit card company will not be able to win a dispute if you pay up front.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, run for your life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BenJammin138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a Very nice, and quite stay. They were very friendly, and helpful. We enjoyed the fishing peir. My wife felt safe. Our room was clean, and well stocked. We will stay here when we are back at the coast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1CRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed here on 8-17,18-2012 .
The rooms were clean.The tv was small and outdated.The noise outside was HORRIBLE.,the first night i had to call the front desk because kids were running around yelling and screaming around the pool area until 2am.The topper was Saturday night , a DRUNK woman stood outside our room on the balcony and was yelling at the top of her lungs ,for her man who apparentlly was catting around.This went on from 2am until 4am .We will NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Lodging itself passable for a mom and pop, $110+ rate a little high for the level it is, the benches outside rooms make it tough to pass by on the way to your own room, especially if someone is sitting on one and you have bags, but good if you like passing through the sitter's smoke. But our main issue is that on successive days first me and then my husband heard one of the owners (first day the female, second day the male) loudly and unkindly chastise maids outside in common areas where they had to know that guests would hear. Highly unpleasant and perhaps undeserved since our room was clean plus every time we saw maids they were smiling and courteous. (We left them a nice tip.) A smaller issue was that the owners charge 25 cents for ice. We are constant travelers and have never ever seen that anywhere, thought it was a joke when another guest asked us if we had our quarter as we went with bucket to get ice. Seems chintzy and inhospitable. (Do they know they are in the hospitality industry?)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank papertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We went back the first week of June. As before we had a great time. So great we are going back in a couple of weeks. The pier was productive as was last time. My wife caught her personal best Red, a 25incher. I also caught my personal best Flounder, a 19in one. We met some nice people while down there. The owner was nice as always and took care of any needs if needed. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LG3NPleasanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our family had a bad experience at another hotel and luckily Surfside had a suite available the nights we needed. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel also offered free wifi and the pool was very nice with a pool patio area with tables and chairs to relax. They have several picnic tables and benches throughout the property for guests to soak up the sun and breeze. I'm not a fisher, but the pier was very nice, my husband loved it and would stay out there all night.

Great experience overall! The owner, his family and the entire hotel staff were very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends, I think it's a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockport hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
1.0 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.2 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#17 of 20 in Rockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Inn Suites

Property: Surfside Inn Suites
Address: 1809 Broadway St, Rockport, TX 78382-3540
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Inn Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Surfside Inn Suites, we are a hotel located directly by the beach in Key Allegro Island, Texas. Being in such a beautiful location, the hotel hosts stunning bay views alongside a 24 hour access guest-lit fishing pier. We offer a variety of rooms, including smoking and pet rooms, complimentary Wireless Internet Access and cable television. Coffee Makers are located in each of our rooms and we also have an outdoor pool that is opened limited time around the year for your enjoyment. So why not let our friendly staff make your vacation to Texas memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfside Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockport
Surfside Inn Suites Rockport, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing