We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfside Inn, a family affair....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surfside Inn Suites
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Neal and his family are the most warm and wonderful hosts you will ever find in the hotel industry. They literally take care of you like family. We met their three lovely daughters, their parents and Neal's wife. We never felt treated like customers. Accommodations are always clean and comfortable. We extended our stay by a couple of weeks while awaiting renovations in our house also in Rockport. They made sure our needs for the added days were always met. Surfside Inn Suites may not be the Ritz, but, the hosts make you feel like guests in their castle !

Room Tip: Considering our room was next to the pool, extraneous noise was hardly audible. Their new pier is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fidel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I decided to visit the Gulf on a whim - booked a last minute room that also happened to fall on Memorial Day weekend. The price was incredibly fair concerning the timing and the location - $120 for a King sized bed. The normal fare not during peak times is considerably lower.

The inn itself is a bit older, the rooms basic, but everything has been remodeled. You can tell the frames and the insides of the rooms have recently been repainted, and the bathroom is freshly remodeled, as well. I opted for the most basic option, which was a King-sized bed with a desk, dresser, nightstand, and flat screen TV with basic cable. Free WiFi. Don't expect pure luxury, but the rooms are fine for the price, and no one spends much time in their hotel rooms, anyways. If you do, you're doing it wrong.

The best part? A nice, long, lighted private dwarf that stretches out into the key. You can sit outside and fish with a beer. I saw quite a few people catching trout, drum, catfish. I would return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank bhall0689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 days during our vacation in late October. This was an excellent base location since we travelled to the National Seashore, Goose Island State Park, Mustang Island State Park, Matagorda Bay, and Corpus Christi. The room was clean. It was quiet. We enjoyed fishing on the lighted pier. The kitchenette was well equiped and useful for storing our drinks and food. Great water pressure in the shower. It is located close to eateries and Walmart. The rates are great for this area. We plan to stay here again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

On October 3,4,5,6, 2013 we booked a room for a quite time and some fishing that was well deserved! Great atmosphere , quite met a lot of other guest that were very friendly. Great time with the wife! Would be great to spend another time at this location.

Room Tip: Great place to take the family, only thing was the parking issue! Need more parking spots at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I just got back from a 3 night stay here, and we loved it. Just perfect for us. Room was nice and clean and we totally used the kitchenette. A big plus for those of us on a budget. Fishing pier was one of the nicest we saw. Lit with benches, fishing rod holders and fish cleaning station. The pool and picnic areas were well done and kept up nicely, even with all the recent south tx rains. The staff was nice, friendly and helpful. Sure, they had rules on turning pier lights off and which trash container to use for what, but hey wouldnt you? As we were playing dominoes by the pool on one of the tiled tables, I wouldn't want there to be rotting fish bait in one of the containers in the pool area. As for previous negative reviews I would like to say this. 1- yes, the parking lot needs work. 2- tax rate in Rockport is high, but the hotel owners have no control over that. 3 - the staff was very nice to us, everything in our room worked well, and after researching I knew what to expect. My husband and I aren't fancy type people. We stayed here to fish and relax on a budget. The pool area was a bonus for us. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizzzzz00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Got home from work friday (8/9) night and decided to make a last minute trip. Called and booked a room and arrived at 11:15pm. Room was ready and clean. Motel has been remodeled and was better than most of the hotel rooms in Rockport. Only complaint was the beds were small and soft. Bathroom was updated and was refreshing after being out on the bay all day. Pier was new and kept clean.

If you travel to Rockport you will find older hotels that are cheap or newer hotels that are over-priced, there is no in between, the last place we stayed (July 26-28, 2013) at we paid $270/night for a condo and upon arriving there were all sorts of guys on their tailgates drinking beer, which gave the feel of a 'fish camp' rather than a family condo resort.

Only negatives for us was the bed issue and no really good area to park our boat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjf9207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My aunt and uncle stayed at this hotel for two nights in July of 2013 (I am writing this review on behalf of my aunt, as she has trouble typing).

Owners were so polite and helpful. My aunt is in a wheelchair and needed a handicap-accessible room. The rooms were clean, newly remodeled, had a microwave, mini fride/freezer, sink, large flat screen, table with two chairs, and electric stove top.

Not to mention, the swimming pool was heated and had a lift so that my aunt could be lowered into the pool and enjoy it like everyone else. Lots of covered picnic benches next to the pool. They also had a new pier; it was huge, lighted, had a washing station, and so many benches-which my uncle loved. He even saw dolphins one morning while he was out fishing!

Place is close to everything. We will be recommendeding this place to all our friends and family and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Analicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
12.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Aransas Pass/Corpus Chris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Inn Suites

Address: 1809 Broadway St, Rockport, TX 78382-3540
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Inn Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Surfside Inn Suites, we are a hotel located directly by the beach in Key Allegro Island, Texas. Being in such a beautiful location, the hotel hosts stunning bay views alongside a 24 hour access guest-lit fishing pier. We offer a variety of rooms, including smoking and pet rooms, complimentary Wireless Internet Access and cable television. Coffee Makers are located in each of our rooms and we also have an outdoor pool that is opened limited time around the year for your enjoyment. So why not let our friendly staff make your vacation to Texas memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Surfside Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockport
Surfside Inn Suites Rockport, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing