We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit While In Rockport”

Rockport Art Center
Ranked #7 of 43 things to do in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
La Veta, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must Visit While In Rockport”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Rockport is so lucky to have such a first class gallery and talented local artists. It is located near the aquarium and the Bay Resource Center at the harbor/marina near downtown. Many local artists display their art in the blue Victorian building. The exhibits are interesting and are rotated often. I love the wood flooring and great lighting inside as well as the well-stocked gift shop. Courteous volunteer staff greets visitors and is available for any questions you may have.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank peaksfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great local artwork on view...scenic location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you are poking around the marina area, down by the Bay Resource Center and Aquarium, you might as well poke your head into the cool (literally cool air conditioned) Art Center. It's definitely worth checking out all the local talented artists we have in Rockport. It's free! Before or after, you can wander around the little Sculpture Garden attached.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vintagepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loads to see.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice art centre .lots of prints by local artists.staff very friendly. Regards mick taylor northeast of UK

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ndakota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Art by the water!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a small sea side community art center with heart for the arts. We loved our visit. The displays were well organized and comfortable to spend time enjoying. The staff was knowledgeable and also helped direct us to other sights in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidNdakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful photograhpy”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hours the museum was open was disappointing for my schedule. But the quick 30 minute visit was excellent. They were switching out exhibits, but let me roam around anyway. I actually met and talked with the photographer/artist. And the presentation was so breathtaking it brought tears to my eyes. It was called Havana and beyond. Especially loved the Tobacco Man and the evening photo that highlighted lights at night on a wet Havana street corner. But all of the photos were brilliant!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ksmee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockport Art Center also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rockport Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing