We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food! Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of JD's Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

JD's Seafood Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: JD himself is the chef in this locally owned and operated restaurant serving up local fresh seafood, authentic Philly cheesesteaks, Mediterraean salads, Blackened Redfish Ponchatrain with Crawfish Etouffee, chicken fried steaks including fried cheesecake and deep fried bananas.....Come see us!
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great Food! Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I am new to the Rockport area and tonight was my 1st visit to JD's Seafood Restaurant. Let me just say, looks are deceiving-I expected mediocre food and service and was pleasantly surprised with EVERYTHING. The service, the food and the friendly atmosphere were exceptional. I will recommend this restaurant to everyone we meet. We will be back-no doubt!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amisjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    49
    30
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Its appears to be a place that could have great potential but some of the staff/owners bring the the customers always right to low priority! We ordered a $35 Burger and we asked for another bun, that we offered to pay for, by the way, so our daughter could try one of the burgers 5 patties, we were told NO if we wanted Two Burges we should've ordered two!!!! WOW SOMEONE NEEDS TO GO BACK AND LEARN SOME MANNERS! RUDE! WE WILL NEVER COME BACK TO! I will say that our waitress was wonderful THANKS ZION

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeval121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great service only rivaled by great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This would definitely be a place to check out if you are down in Rockport. Great location and atmosphere that is not really found in any other restaurant around there. The food was delicious and they had a wide variety to pick from. The waitresses were great and if you have the chance ask for Nyla, she's upbeat,caring, fast, and makes you feel like an old regular.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andres U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Great food, Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went in tonight and expected less than we got. Our waitress Heidi was informative and fun. If you go in be sure to ask for her. I ordered the coconut shrimp and my husband had the redfish Pontchartrain. Everything was cooked to perfection. Everything was prepared beautifully! If you get a salad be to ask for their house, miso ginger. We finished the night with the homemade Italian cannolis and they were the best we've ever had. We will be back. Thanks to Heidi for the best service and Thanks to the chef for a superb meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wintertexan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great fish if expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had dinner for 5 people, we had several great fish dishes from the simple to the more complex. All were good. The restaurant was very busy but we didn't have to wait for a table. There was a good selection on the main menu and several specials. The restaurant appearance is a cheap café with cheap tables and decorations but the food is priced and tastes like a more upmarket place. Some of the specials were $30, which seems expensive, but there were many items for half that.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Challenger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JD's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing