We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Most recent stay with a friend to fish. Weather was cold. Room was nice warm and comfortable. Staff is always welcoming and friendly. Rooms well appointed. Buffet breakfast is included. Nice property. Nice views. Great location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your most recent stay. Yes the weather did turn cold for a few days. I hope you still had the opportunity to catch some fish. I like the comments about the hotel and staff. The staff reads ALL of our reviews and greatly appreciate being recognized! We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We enjoyed our 4-night stay in a 2-room suite with full kitchen overlooking Aransas Bay. The hotel is right on the water, whereas the other hotels and motels we saw in the area were set further back. The bed was comfortable, the staff friendly and responsive, and the free hot breakfast was good. We especially liked being able to sit in rocking chairs on our balcony and watch the fishing boats go in and out of the marina next door. Still, there were enough negatives to bring our overall rating down to average. The hotel is old and, while it appears to have been updated at some point in the past, the furniture was a little seedy and the room showed its age. One day the cleaning crew ran the dishwasher in our kitchen with only a saucepan lid in it, leaving out the saucepan itself and several utensils.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the bay side. The other side just has the parking lot or pool to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKMtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay with us. I have spoken to the housekeeping staff about how to properly use the dishwasher and to put ALL of the use items for cleaning in it! I do appreciate the kind comments about our friendly and responsive staff. We will be working on some updates throughout the hotel in the next few months. We hope you will notice them on you return visits.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A multi-day beach trip, with children and all their stuff and snacks, a three-hour drive away can be exhausting and not much of a vacation for me (the mom). But I could truly relax and recharge at the Lighthouse Inn. We booked a poolside suite in October via Travelzoo, which came with drink (oops, forgot to use those) and dinner vouchers. It was fabulous to go out on the patio and have the pool and hot tub steps away. (There are separate doors to the patio from both the living room and bedroom, which I appreciated with a party of 4 so nobody disturbs the others going in & out). There's a full kitchen so I made dinner one night and lunch one day, which saved even more money. As for the hotel's restaurant, the hot breakfast was good, the grilled shrimp at dinner was great, the view is stunning. So stunning that we wandered out to the pier after ordering our food and lost track of time. This must happen regularly because the staff actually came out to find us when the food was ready! We each ordered a cocktail and I was surprised at how pricey they were, but I should have used my vouchers, now, shouldn't I? Everything was clean, quiet, comfortable, and well-stocked, we enjoyed the library and pool very much, and the landscaping is beautiful. The owners and staff were beyond friendly and accommodating - one morning I had a flat tire and they actually got out a compressor and aired it up for me and gave me directions to the tire place! That's how much they value their guests. Bonus: Rockport Beach is right down the street a mile away and an HEB is between the two to pick up food and beach supplies. We will definitely be back - hopefully for longer next time.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites, and all have balconies (covered patios on the first floor). Bayside rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamareen0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

WOW, what a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. ALL of the hotel employees appreciate your kind word. I know that Dwight was so pleased to be able to get enough air in your tire so you could get to the tire store. We as a team work very hard to provide exceptional service and accommodations. It is so nice to be recognized for doing so. I do hope your next stay will be a long and relaxing one.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hospitality is always very nice. We again had a very relaxing stay while watching the pelicans in bay from our porch. Close location to great food, nice small movie theatre, blue wave park and museums.

Room Tip: Bayside rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I am so pleased that you continue to enjoy coming to the Lighthouse Inn. We will continue to work on providing the high level of customer service you have experienced. We ALL look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We decided to spent a sat nite at the coast and my wife was absolutely infatuated with the charm of this place, the rates were reasonable and it is a charming place. I know we got the last "base" room that night, so I overlooked the worn carpet, it does seem as tho it could stand to be "freshened up" a bit. But the overall ambiance of this place is absolutely charming, nice amenities, coffee,gift/snack shop, nice restaurant/lounge and a good free breakfast buffett with an unmatchable view of the bay, just wished for Bacon that they didn't have, but great food, great staff always courteous and a really unique place to stay right on the Bay...it is where we will stay when in Rockport! My wife loved the decor!And really loved the Balcony and in room coffee.All in all a really nice "unique" place to stay with loads of charm and reasonable rates!

Room Tip: The bay view rooms are $80 more, and you can walk around the corner and look and save the $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us this past Saturday. I am pleased that your overall experience was positive. We to do plan on getting some new furnishings this winter. We ALL look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We would like to provide you with feedback regarding our recent stay at the Lighthouse Inn On Oct 25-27, 2013. We had stayed at the Lighthouse Inn in 2009 and remember it as a charming hotel and decided to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary there this year.

We were given room 47 at check in. Upon entering the room, we both noticed a musty smell that seemed to be masked with a chemically smell as well. We also found the closet not in working order. We told this to the front desk staff who politely reassigned us to room 27. While this room did not have the musty or chemical smells, we still found the room to not meet our expectations. The room was dingy and needed a fresh coat of paint. Paint was peeling off in several areas including the ceiling of the shower. The were rust stains around the toilet. The furniture was old and appeared to us to not have been cleaned in several years. There was an unpleasant odor to the upholstered couch.

We feel it is important that you receive this feedback. Because the Lighthouse Inn is one of, if not the most expensive hotel in Rockport, and we had one of the most expensive rooms at the Inn in, we had higher expectations that were not met. I hope you consider correcting these problems to regain our future business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jslaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at the Lighthouse Inn. I too am disappointed that we did meet your expectations. This is the time of year that we go into all of our rooms and paint and repair as needed. It is a process that takes some time but the items you pointed out and more have been corrected in the rooms you mentioned. We are also in the process of purchasing new sleeper sofas for our suite and recliners for our rooms. Although our existing furniture is “shampooed” cleaned at least once per year, we have determined that it is in need of replacement. Thank you again for your candid comments. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to earn back your business.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you reserve a stay with an offer of $25 Palm Harbor restaurant voucher at the Lighthouse Inn just be aware that they automatically add 15% when you use the voucher, whether you dine in or take it to go. At first we were told by Michelle there was a 15% surcharge just for using the vouchers.....period. Very matter of fact without much diplomacy or tact. No mention that it was an automatic tip and no one at the front desk seemed to know either. It wasn't until later we were told it was for the tip. It was explained to us that many people who use the vouchers don't tip, and it's understandable that for service in the restaurant you should tip accordingly. I did have a problem with being charged an automatic tip for take out food and the Manager, Bill Olsen deducted it from our bill. Just be aware since there is no mention of this in any of their specials using vouchers, other than a statement that "gratuities are not included". What they don't say is it is automatically added everytime you use your voucher. Our vouchers stated nothing about the automatic tip, however we were told it is stated on some. They probably need to note this in the "fine print" upfront so travelers aren't taken by surprise when you get there. Other than that we love this hotel, it's location and view.

Room Tip: Bay view first floor. You can just walk out your back door to sit by the ocean. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Luv2Fish6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay. I must apologize again for the confusion with the Palm Room Bar and Grill food vouchers. After our discussion about the vouchers we have changed the wording on the voucher to read “15% Gratuity added to all checks”. This is in bold letters leaving no question as to our policy. I do hope you enjoyed your food and stay at the hotel. We hope you will take advantage of one of our Travel Zoo promotions again in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.3 mi away
Inn At Fulton Harbor
Inn At Fulton Harbor
#1 of 4 in Fulton
150 reviews
18 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Address: 200 S Fulton Beach Rd, Rockport, TX 78382-7736
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £71 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Inn is the perfect choice for a vacation on the Texas coastal bay, with full-service accommodations in the beautiful Aransas Bay. Relax and enjoy a laid back Texas getaway with luxurious guest accommodations and amenities and our friendly staff. Positioned at the entrance of Fulton Harbor with a magnificent view of Aransas Bay, enjoy modern amenities, shoreline access and our excellent location close to local attractions and things to do in the Texas Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn At Aransas Bay Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel At Aransas Bay
Lighthouse Inn At Aransas Bay Rockport, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing