We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“long wait for unremarkable food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ken's Diner - CLOSED

Ken's Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Memphis, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“long wait for unremarkable food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Tried this place because it seemed like a popular place. We were greeted and told to sit anywhere we like. After choosing a seat we were not even brought menus for more that fifteen minutes. Getting up and getting our own caught one of the waitresses attention. She apologized and came over and got our drink orders then promptly forgot about us again. We eventually were able to place and order with the hope that the food would make up for the lack of service. it wasn't anything that you'd remember. Not bad but not great either. Must need to be a regular to get prompt service and I know that will never be me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The place was packed on the Sunday morning when had breakfast. Service was good and the staff was cheerful. My husband had an Omelet which he said was good. I had scrambled eggs with bacon and sausage. The bacon was great. The eggs were a bit gooey in a few spots which is my little idiosyncratic thing. Overall it was great for breakfast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvmyminidonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“home cooking not my home”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Friendly watress. Took our order and never saw her again. Wifes' meatloaf was cold and didn't look very appetizing. She didn't eat her meal. Did ask if she wanted something else to eat. I ordered scrambled eggs with hash browns. You couldn't go wrong there right? Wrong!!! They dumped creamed gravy all over myeggs. The fish sure looked good. Should have ordered it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Home Cooking, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had heard great things about his little diner - not fancy, good food, and that was true. What folks forgot to tell us was that the staff is so friendly. Brenda was amazing and told us all about Hemingway's which is also owned by Ken. She made it sound so wonderful we can hardly wait to go there. Our breakfast was wonderful - hand cut and home made chicken fried steak with fresh biscuits. Priced very reasonable so I think Ken's Diner will be a regular stop for us. Really anxious to try lunch as the chicken and dumplings and the all you can eat catfish sounds great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a cockroach crawl across our table before we even had our drinks! Needless to say, we left immediately.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ken's Diner also viewed

 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing