We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most excellent after a crappy couple of days!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JJ's Little Bay Cafe

JJ's Little Bay Cafe
Ranked #5 of 95 Restaurants in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Most excellent after a crappy couple of days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

JJ's and their staff is definitely a bright spot in Rockport! We had a crummy couple of days (see other reviews!) and walked in here before we left town. Honestly, we were not expecting much, and we got way more than we bargained for! The staff was wonderful and friendly, the food was like homemade and soooo good! Didn't seem that anything was frozen at all! The fish were great entertainment for the kids and the place was just down home friendly. Even the other patrons were smiling and happy. You can tell that JJ's is a hometown favorite by the people that were there. If you're eating in Rockport, and looking for somewhere to go, I'd advise you to try JJ's! We all had the Chicken Fried Steak special for lunch. Not only was it a good amount of food and delicious, but the price was reasonable as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RTWigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    47
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They set the bar for service and food quality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We are regulars in Rockport and have given up eating out most places because of poor service and low food quality for the price.
JJ's is our exception! They are friendly and have excellent customer service. The food is fantastic and we always leave happy! If you don't want to wait you need to get there early! This is a must do if you are staying in the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrudy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

JJ's is know here more for its breakfasts, but they have delicious burgers and an excellent stir fry. Hope you are lucky enough to stop on a day they have home made pies.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pugsNjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“My family enjoyed it; has local charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Great stop for a family. Has a diner-like quality to it -- the locals clearly come here. Food was fine, staff was friendly. A bit cramped inside, but that's part of its charm. The pies were excellent. Got some fishing tips from other customers while we were there. A much better alternative to a chain restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Horalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
1 review
“Our new favorite in Rockport!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Rockport is our favorite getaway. In August 2012, we joined two other couples from Waco in our first trip to JJ's. Without exception, all six of us were impressed with that experience, so much so, that when it was time for another meal, "JJ's!!!" kept coming up. Over a three day stay, we ate there four times! Reasonable priced menu items for sure. The food was tasty and served hot by a friendly staff each time. We had great shrimp, burgers, pancakes, omelettes, you name it. JJ's has a generous salad bar with good homemade soup and chili. No, we are not co-owners of the place and we don't get discounts on our food for raving about JJ's. It's just so rare that six people can be elated about four different visits to one restaurant. We went back in November for a long weekend and made several visits to the best kept secret in Rockport.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JJ's Little Bay Cafe also viewed

 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JJ's Little Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing