We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go if you have asthma” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice Faye's Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Alice Faye's Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't go if you have asthma”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

As soon as you walk in the front door, you are hit with a lobby that contains 10 plus years of old nicotine smell. Had I not been with my family, I'd have walked out. Once seated, it was hot and stuffy in the restaurant which made the old smell of cigarettes waft through into my clothes. The steak was not the best I've ever had; but our server was indeed fabulous. If you are an ex smoker, you do not want to dine in this restaurant. I had to have my clothes cleaned as soon as we got back to our Inn. Were they to air out the building a bit and lighten up the interior (very dark in there) it may fare better but as someone who has chronic asthma later in life, the smell is very offensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    33
    22
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We have only had breakfast there and it was crowded on that Sunday morning. When you first walk in it is very smokey even tho I didn't see anyone smoking. (It must be infused in the carpet.) The omelets were pretty good. We were lucky to get a table by the window with a water view.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank luvmyminidonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decatur,Tx.
Level Contributor
153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I was not impressed with the shrimp po boy but my husband loved his fish platter. My sandwich had too much bread and breading on the shrimp. I enjoyed the view as the dolphins and pelicans put on a great show. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was not unpleasant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bennyjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice View, OK Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The restaurant overlooks Aransas bay with a beautiful view, if you are near a window. Otherwise the restaurant is dark. The food was OK, but the seafood and fish were not as good as several other places nearby. Service was friendly and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edam231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The place seems to always have lots of cars so we decided to give it a try. Guess everyone was in the bar- the restaurant was empty. The food was ok- but WAY over priced. Service was lackluster. The marina that was outside the windows was in total disrepair. Just not a good experience. Definitely not for families- too many drunks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alice Faye's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing