We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“disappointed”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

the price and size of the room were excellent. but after the first nite we found out that the floor had probably never been mopped. walking around in the room barefoot or with socks in about ten minutes the bottoms were black i took pictures if you want to see them this is no lie. i have stayed at this hotel since it was built and before. i know they do not mop cause this morning while we were packing i observed the cleaning crew cleaning and never saw them once with a mop bucket. i saw a mop on their cart but never once did i see them use it. if u have babies or toddlers i would not advise letting them crawl around on the floors. the bathroom floor was actually sticky it was so dirty.door jams were cracked and falling apart. the microwave had so much rust on the inside i wouldn't even warm my dogs food in there. the pier is nice and the people were friendly the pool is clean but the hot tub was green. they either need management that looks at what the cleaners do or new cleaners all together i never even heard a vacuum running or anything while they cleaned. looks like all they do is change the sheets and put towels and toilet paper. this place is gonna start losing business if they don't clean better.oh and there was a plug with exposed wires not very safe for small children.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAREDISE, Manager at Hunt's Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Mr Thorton
First let me say i truely apologize for the present condition of your room. As you know we are in the process of hiring new housekeepers. Sir I do unstand the seriosness of this and we are addressing the problem both in housekeeping and maintance departments. And again I apologize for the inconvence of your stay. If there is anything that the manangement here can do to get you to come back please feel free to le us know by emaill or phone

Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    42
    24
    30
    91
See reviews for
185
72
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Arrived to find our reservation had not been forwarded by Expedia, although we had a confirmation number! However, we were given an upgrade for the same price. Our first impression was that the whole place needed a very thorough cleaning - thick dust on the fan blades, a loaf of bread left in a cupboard. The room was obviously meant for longer stays as there was a complete kitchen, but no cutlery, dishes, cooking pans etc. We did not require any of this, but ask about it if a long stay is planned. There was a full bed and bunk beds in our room - pefect for a family. By the time we left, we would go back in a flash! The staff was very friendly and helpful. A number of good restaurants were recommended. The best thing of all was the fabulous location. On a one way street, basically at the end of the road, and on the water, the hotel features a balcony all along the front with comfortable rocking chairs by each unit. Morning coffee sitting in the chairs, watching the gulls, and waving to the apparent "locals" walking their dogs or doing an early morning jog was a very memorable experience. We did not use the swimming pool or hot tub, but were able to look down on them and they appeared well-maintained and clean. The hotel boasts a private, 1/4 mile long pier with green lights that light up the water - and are a great landmark at night from far down the beach. We were easily able to find our way home! Walking out on the pier at night was the highlight of the stay. Everything was so quiet, including the people fishing who would suddenly appear out of the shadows, and who were actually catching fish! There are benches along the way. Chilly while we were there, but we noted the barbecue pits and tables as well as the kayak and paddle boats. If ever back at a warmer time, we'll definitely take a dust cloth and book for a longer time!

Room Tip: A room on the front is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Need a little vacation. Last mintue decided to head to rock port. first place we stopped at was hunts castle. Front desk was fast,friendly and promt. Got to our room clean and comfortable. Sat outside our room on some of the greatest rocking chairs. Nice peer, great lighting that lite up ocean which made an breathless view of the water. Great sunset view. Only plan to stay for one night but loved it so much we stayed an extra night. Made reserv to stay again. 110% over all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindyxxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Village, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Very friendly owner but the place has the feel that the whole place has seen far better days and is on its last legs.
Rooms are extremely basic with 70s furniture, No bedside table or lamp. Exterior decor needs some basic landscaping and tidying up. Towels are small, overused, and inadequate. Didn't like the look of the pool and hot tub for health reasons.
Several of the neon-lit "Hunts Castle" letters on the side of the building were not working - looked ghetto at night.
Excessive partying from some white trash guests until 4am although I will give the owner credit for dealing with it after hours.
Again, very nice and helpful owner but the place needs significant investment/modernization.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor because even a six year old running around above you will sound like a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VotingWithHisWallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Mr. Ken was a great host, staff was attentive and knowledgeable of the area. Working for a 4 star hotel, I understand the value of the guest experience. Free coffee and pastries in the morning. A private fishing pier for hotel guest only and a view of the ocean with BBQ pits plus tables are just a few amenities I enjoyed, I hope to visit again in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannyCardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This is the kind of place to stay if you like a friendly staff, fishing, outdoor music while having a BBQ, and a beautiful view. The location is convenient since the beach , bait shops, dining, and shopping stores are near. I look forward to visiting Hunt's Castle again on my next trip to Rockport.

Room Tip: waterfront efficiency fits 3 to 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our family rented a suite with two queen beds for a fair price of $169 in the month of March, 2013. My children have been to this hotel before in their childhood and this return will be our last time there! Elevator is six months beyond the inspection date and smelled like smoke and urine, walls filthy. Given key to our room on 2nd floor and walked in to stripped beds with the blankets balled up on the floor and table. Given another room next door and it had sheets on it however the room was filthy. Trash can realllly dirty (and I am not one of those neat freaks by a loooong shot!), bathroom had cleaning seal for toilet torn and on the floor and ran constantly, sinks were rusted and dirty, bedroom light fixture without cover, cable cord in master area without a tv, press board wood dressers and side tables jagged and falling apart. Main area with second queen bed has fridge, stove, sink and microwave. All functional but old. View is magnificent but door to the back is rusted, and walkway is not private with windows looking directly into room. We did not have towels and called the office at 8:30pm - NO ANSWER THEY WERE "CLOSED" !!?! No towels to shower with, listened to neighbors above us on thin walls who were moving wooden chairs, banging metal doors, and talking. Continental breakfast is a box of donuts and questionable drink machine but not sure what the liquid was - punch mix something? Located right at the water the once family friendly bamboo huts and picnic tables are in shambles, as is the pier, as are the paddle boats. EEK!

There is no way I would go back to this once wonderful hotel even for FREE unless it has a serious makeover! What a waste - such a beautiful location and the guy at the front desk was nice, but a bad experience on every other level. We also saw items from the hotel (rocking chairs, mattresses, cloth couch, fixtures) out in the open on the lot next door being either "refurbished" or junk piled. Very unprofessional and unsightly.

Just say no, then if you think wellllll maybeeeee because of the price or you need a place to stay just slap yourself silly and say NO! You have been warned ;)

Room Tip: go somewhere else! There are little bed and breakfasts, cottages, chain hotels, and other options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAREDISE, Manager at Hunt's Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Ms. H.
Fisrt let me apologize for the stay you had here, If you would ask the front office about the elevator inspection we could assure your that out elevator is up to date on all things. We try our best to stay on top of maintance around here. I am truly sorry that you was not happy here and we are working on making the better and the staff at the front desk took care of your problem with the room right away it was an honest mistake made bye our housekeeping and front desk. And for the drinks in the office those were spanish drinks and leomonade. Again we are truly sorry about your stay here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockport hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
3.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunt's Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunt's Castle Hotel

Property: Hunt's Castle Hotel
Address: 725 S Water St, Rockport, TX 78382-2439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunt's Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have one of the longest piers in Rockport lit up with green lights. We also have music on Friday and Saturday. A newly added boardwalk in front with BBQ pits. Paddleboat rentals and kayaks A swimming pool and a hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hunt's Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunt's Castle Hotel Rockport, Texas
Hunts Castle Rockport
Hunts Castle Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing